Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Back to the kitchen…

Hello. I am back to cooking in my kitchen after a week long holiday. I am glad to be back. I made lemon poppy seed muffins, cranberry orange scones, applesauce muffins and oat bread yesterday. The applesauce muffins and oat bread were thanks to DJ. I saw she had made them on her blog and they looked fantastic. Plus the boys love anything applesauce. I made mini muffins. Arthur likes to call them baby cupcakes. It is a great snack. For dinner last night I made some cajun spiced roasted acorn squash, some balsamic green beans and baked maple orange seitan. There was not a recipe for the seitan. I just pretty much put the seitan in a baking dish. Added maple syrup and orange juice with a little salt and pepper and fresh thyme on top. I baked it for 30 minutes uncovered. It was quite tasty.

DSCN0226

 

 

 

 

 

 

Well as you know, we have a new member of the family. Zeke the dog. He is awesome. With a new dog comes more dog food and vet check-ups which means spending money. He is well worth it. This all being said, I am finding ways to save money, for him and our savings account. Plus our economy is still in the crapper. So, I am going to avoid dining out for the next 65 days. That would mean no going out to eat until the New Year. Not unless someone offers to take me to dinner. My birthday is next month. Wink wink. Seriously though, I will not dine at any restaruants, all the cooking will be done at home. I also plan to make everyone’s Christmas gifts. I think handmade gifts are great. And it is more meaningful. Another way I plan to save some dough is go volunteer at the local farm Smurfette volunteered at a while back. If you vonlunteer a Saturday morning at the farm, you get an arse load of free veggies. It is fun getting to be a farmer for the morning, you get free veggies and it didn’t cost you a dime.

Well I am off to fold mountains of laundry from our trip. Hope you have a lovely day.

DSCN0228

 

 

 

 

 

 

DSCN0193

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

peas and love….

Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Back to the kitchen…

  1. lazysmurf on said:

    65 days! I could never do it, good luck! Maybe we will get a ton of okra at the farm and then we can make pickled okra for people for Xmas!

  2. 65 days – I think I could be persuaded! I love the oat bread so much – it’s great with soup!

  3. Pingback: Veganmofo Wrap-Up « Lazy Smurf’s Guide to Life

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 165 other followers

