Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Jamaican me crazy….

I am sitting on a beach right now with the sand between my toes, staring at beautiful blue water.  I have a fruity drink in my hand, you know, the kind with the paper umbrella.  There is no laundry to be done, nor house to be clean.  It is so lovely.  Wait!  What’s that sound in the distance?  Oh, it’s reality calling.  Now that I am awake and out of daydream land, lets talk about food.  For my E.A.T. World contribution, I made Jamaican food.  Since I can’t be in Jamaica, I decided to make some Jamaican food.  The recipe came from Vegan Fire and Spice.  I made Jamaican spiced tempeh nuggets with Jamaican baked vegetables and a side of brown rice.  I have not made tempeh in forever.  I don’t know why. I always seem to forget about it.  Oh my, it was so good spiced for this dish.  The vegetables were sweet with a subtle hot kick to them.  And the brown rice was a perfect side.  I of course overkilled a bit when it came to the servings.  I made way to many vegetables.  There was more than enough for the dinner co-op and we now have a large container full in the freezer.  The meal was delicious and Josh requested I make it again in the future.  I have to agree.  It was quite tasty.

As of now, we have visited the following countries via our mouth:   Ethiopia, Mexico, India, Tunisia, and Jamaica.  Where shall we go next week?  Any suggestions?

Last night I made apricot date bars.  The recipe comes from How It All Vegan.  The recipe actually is date bars, but I wanted a combination of dates and apricots, so I subbed half of the dates for apricots.  They turned out perfect and made a ton.  I love homemade bars.  They are so much better than the store bought ones.  There are no added ingredients or preservatives.  Perfect.  If you have this cookbook, check out the recipe.

Well I am off to eat some breakfast and get Arthur ready for dance class.  Hope you have a lovely day. 

By the way, we are going to have another cold spell this weekend, so I have decided to create a roasted poblano chowder recipe.  Stay tuned for a new recipe and pictures.

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Jamaican me crazy….

  1. I miss my godsons and you. Coffee Sunday?

  2. Wow! These look great! It is nice and refreshing to see some new foods! Inspiration!

  3. At first I thought you really HAD gone on a trip to Jamaica! :) The food looks and sounds very good. I should get that book sometime… I DO have How It All Vegan, though, so I’ll try those bars in the meantime. Boys cute as always!

  4. Can I join you on your beautiful sandy beach? It sounds so peaceful! As long as the food is delicious bring on the overkill leftovers! Mmm yummy spicy tempeh! I also go way too long without eating tempeh. I am torn between Japan and Jamaica for my J trip, I will keep this post in mind if Jamaica wins! :-)

    I’m excited to see where we’re going next week! Ireland? Russia? Greece? Australia? DJ went to Australia and made some yummy lamingtons that made me very jealous! :-)

  5. Jamaican spiced tempeh nuggets sound pretty incredible to me! This dinner co-op is very intriguing. Was it hard to get used to making such large amounts of food? I’m not sure I could swing this here, I know few vegans, but it might be worth considering someday! By the way, your money saving tips page is great. I passed it on to a friend sometime back.

  6. oops, meant *couldn’t – hence knowing few vegans…haha

  7. The apricot date bars look delicious, and being a big fan of jamaican food jerk tempeh sounds perfect! Just to let you know I’ve nominated you for a blog award – have a great day! DJ xo

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 165 other followers

