Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Weekend update…..

Well hello there.  How are you?  It is Tuesday and a lovely Spring day.  We had a great weekend as well.  Friday was the big SXSW Worldwide Vegan Bakesale for Haiti.  After Arthur’s Campfire Kids meeting we headed downtown to the music and club district to check out all the fun.  We saw the wonderful Smurfette running the table.  I met a fellow vegan from California who recognized the boys.  I can’t remember her name (sorry), but she was really nice.  I also met some vegans who live here and got to meet some people in person who we know one another through the internet.  For the bakesale I had made almond joy brownies and peanut butter fudge.  I was kind of bummed that the fudge was soft and turning to mush due to the hot Spring day we were having.  But later I was informed by my new friend Becca that the fudge firmed up once the freakish cold front came in that evening.  The boys had a blast and loved the goodies.  We got to meet some of the local Action for Animals vegans as well.  While we were downtown we walked over to a pizza joint called Hoboken Pie with our friends and ordered some pizza.  They use Teese.  I ordered a plain cheeze pizza for me and the boys.  It was okay.  I wasn’t blown away by it.  I will have to give them another try and order a pizza with some veggies.  It might taste better that way. 

Vegan and proud.

Bakesale table full of goodness.

Now for a brownie recipe.  I made these brownies for the bakesale and they were phenomenal.  I wish I could take full credit for them, but I can’t.  The original recipe was created by River.  She is a genius.  Here are my additions to the recipe.  I call them almond joy brownies.  Delicious!

Almond Joy Brownies

3/4c sugar

3/4c flour

1/2c cocoa powder

1/2t baking powder

1/4t salt

1/4c vegetable oil

1/2c coconut milk

1/2t almond extract

1/2c chocolate chips

1/3c slivered almonds

1/3c coconut flakes

Preheat oven to 350F.  In a large mixing bowl combine the first 5 ingredients.  Stir.  Creating a well in the center of the dry mix, add the oil, coconut milk and extract.  Stir.  Now add the chocolate chips, almonds and flakes. The batter will be thick.  In a 8X8 lightly greased baking dish, evenly spread the brownie batter into the pan. Bake 18-24 minutes or until a toothepick inserted comes out with crumbs.  Enjoy!

Saturday was the first day of Spring, but you would never know by the weather.  The temperature dropped down to 45F during the day and was freezing that night.  Ugh.  We covered our garden with sheets for fear of losing all of our veggies.  Thankfully they survived.  We also had dinner at  a friend’s Saturday night.  They served a tofu vegetable stirfry.  What was really awesome is a majority of the veggies came from her garden.  Yippee!  It was so good.  They have two children ages 5 and 2.  Arthur had a blast playing with their 5 year old daughter and Adam enjoyed running around the house.  I love dinner with friends.

As with every weekend, it is pizza night around here.  This time we had a roasted red peppper pizza with oyster mushrooms and fresh basil.  All I can say is “wowza!”  This pizza was awesome.  I also made a homemade marinara for it. I love how light the marinara is in color.  It is almost orange.  Fresh tomatoes are the best.  The red pepper had a hot  kick to it which added to the pizza.  This was by far a favorite.  I made  a cheeze pizza for the boys which they devoured. 

Cheeze pizza.

Roasted red pepper pizza with oyster mushrooms and fresh basil.

The start of a new week begins a new round of co-op meals.  Last night we were delivered popcorn tofu sandwiches with a white bean salad and mini organic chocolate bars.  Our Monday night hostess had out of town guest and was not able to cook.  So, she went to our local co-op grocery store and bought the meal.  She could not have picked a better meal to buy.  The popcorn tofu is the best tofu creation ever.  Anyone who has tried it loves it and always comes back for more.  The white bean salad was delicious and who doesn’t love chocolate?!?

Well I am off to make some calzones.  I am making roasted eggplant calzones and a spinach tofu ricotta calzone.  Hope you each have a wonderful day.

peas and love….

Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Weekend update…..

  1. I look terrified to be caught on film with all those baked goods! Your kids are the cutest, everyone loves them. Thanks so much for making such delicious stuff! Who would have guessed it would be so hot? I got totally sunburned!

  2. I wish we could organize a bake sale here, but it’d likely just be me and Poopie Bitch. That’d be a lot of baking for two people! We have quite a few vegan friends, but I doubt any would have an interest in cooking.

  3. Oooh, I’ve always wanted to participate in a vegan bake sale (well, besides the boys’ lemonade stand, LOL). Or a cookie swap!

  4. I am so glad you posted that brownie recipe – I have been thinking of them since you mentioned them a few posts ago. Alas, I am sugar free for a few weeks so they will have to wait – but what a sweet reward!

    What is popcorn tofu? Sounds delicious!

  5. Looks like a great time! I want a calzone picture!!!!! :)

  6. Those brownies sound so delicious! I haven’t made brownies in forever, so this might be it!
    What a wonderful chance to meet with people and share the joy of veganism. And as usual, those boys are just too cute for words!

  7. Wowsa pizza! That thing is loaded! You guys always have the best pizzas ever. And thank you for sharing the Almond Joy Brownies variation, I will link to it from my brownie post. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 165 other followers

