Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Veganizing the back country…

Tuesday night I made stew and served it with biscuits. Such goodness. Tuesday is usually our soup or crockpot day. So I decided to adapt a recipe. I made Brunswick Stew. This is a dish you would see in the deep South. Something in the backwoods or what you would feed a mountain man. The original carnivore dish has squirrel, racoon, or rabbit with ham as well. Yuck! I also made biscuits with hatch chiles and cheddar cheeze. I used a basic Baking Powder Biscuit recipe and changed it into a hatch chile cheddar cheeze biscuit recipe. These were delicious. So good. I love hatch chile season. Sorry for the crap pictures. The food was excellent, I am still getting used to my new camera.

 Roasted Hatch Chile & Cheddar Cheeze Biscuits

2c flour

1tbl baking powder (heaping)

1/2tsp salt

1/2c soy margine

3/4c plain soy milk

1 hatch chile, *roasted and chopped very small

3/4c shredded cheddar cheeze (I used FYH)

Preheat oven to 400F. In a medium size mixing bowl, combine dry ingredients. Cut margarine into small pieces. Add to dry ingredients. Use a pastry fork or two regular forks to mix margarine into flour until it resembles a coarse meal. Gently mix in the chile and cheeze. Stir in milk. Drop onto a cookie sheet that is covered in parchment paper. Bake for 20-22 minutes. Let sit on cookie sheet for 10 minutes and then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely. Delicious warm with soup, stew, etc. Enjoy. *To roast the hatch chile, insert a bamboo skewer into the center and roast over an open burner on your stove until chile is black all over.

 

 

Brunswick Stew

1 med onion, diced

2-8oz pkg seitan, bite-size pieces

1 1/2c vegan sausage, diced

1-14 can diced tomatoes

4c veggie broth or water

4 garlic cloves, minced

3Tworcestershire sauce

2t spicy mustard

3 sprigs fresh thyme

1/2t pepper

1t bottled hot pepper sauce

2c frozen sliced okra

1c lima beans

1c corn

In a crock pot, add onion, sausage, and seitan. In a small bowl combine undrained tomatoes, broth, garlic, Worcestershire sauce, mustard, thyme, pepper, and hot pepper sauce; pour into crockpot. Cover and cook on low-heat setting for all day (8 hours). After the 8 hours, add Add okra, lima beans and corn. Turn to high-heat setting. Cover and cook 45 minutes more or until vegetables are tender. Remove thyme stems. Ladle into bowls. Enjoy. Makes 6 servings. *Note-This is a Southern recipe, carnivores put squirrel meat, racoon and even rabblit in it. Gross!

DSCN4441

 

 

 

 

 

 

DSCN4443

 

 

 

 

 

 

I added a little addition to our Fall garden. I planted some garlic. It will be nice when it starts to grow and will be ready by Spring. I love fresh garlic. It reminds me of my grandfather’s garden. Everytime I went to visit, he always gave me fresh garlic from his garden.

Last night I made Ginger Miso Collard Wraps. It is a recipe from Veg’ Times. The filling is sweet potatoes, edamame, tofu, miso, peanut butter and a dash of cayenne. While I loved the filling, I was not to fond of the raw collard leaves. They have a bit of a bitter taste to them. Josh liked the dish alot, he said the raw collard leaves tasted spicy to him. I have always eaten cooked collard leaves and I think I will continue to eat them that way.

Here is a picture of the dish. I borrowed this picture from the boys Godmum Mary because my pictures looked terrible.

mi

 

 

 

 

 

 

miso

 

 

 

 

 

 

I am off to do some baking. Hope you have a lovely day.

DSCN4434

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

DSCN4435

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

 

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “Veganizing the back country…

  1. maya938 on said:

    i love hatch chilis too! those biscuits look and sound divine. MMMMMMMMM. i roasted hatch chilis earlier this week and used them in a hummus i have been noshing on in spinach / olive / hummus sandwiches this week. hatch chilis rule!

  2. Those biscuits look really good…thanks for sharing this.

  3. I’m not crazy about raw collards either. I’ve really tried to like them raw, but I just can’t. Can you believe I’ve never heard of Brunswick Stew?! I thought I knew everything about Deep South dishes…damn. Your version sounds a million times better than the original though.

  4. You should send me a link to the site…it sounds awesome!

    I have been cooking up a storm with Hatch Chiles. They are soo delicious. I wish they were available more during the year.

  5. Both meals look just delicious! I can’t get collards here, which is a bummer because I like them. I don’t mind them raw, but I wouldn’t want to eat them that way every day!

  6. lazysmurf on said:

    I saw those hatch chiles the other day and I was so excited! The stew looks great.

  7. Mmmm… That stew and biscuits look so good!
    I often wonder what collard greens are, so it was handy to see the picture. They look like dark green cabbage – a bit nippy on the tongue! We have ours raw in green smoothies, sweetened up with lots of fruit, but otherwise, I’d DEFINITELY cook them!
    Adorable boys, as always! :o)

  8. look at your boys !! so handsome.
    Oh and I love me some bisquits and some backwoods mountain men! the wraps look delish as well

  9. I love peppers but have never heard of hatch chilies. For level of heat what are they close to?? The bisuits look incredible!!

  10. oops… biscuits

  11. veganhomemade on said:

    Your chili cheese biscuits sound so good! The stew looks great as well.

Leave a Reply

