Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Mushroom madness…..

I love mushrooms. Growing up you could not have gotten me to eat a mushroom if my life depended on it. Last night I made a mushroom curry and served it with some chapatis. Such goodness. I would have loved to use oyster mushrooms, but they are so freakin’ expensive it is ridiculous. So, I opted for cremini. I prefer those over the white mushrooms. Here is the recipe. Enjoy!

Mushroom Curry

 

1lb mushrooms, chopped (I used cremini)

8 cloves garlic, minced

1 small onion, chopped fine

2tsp coriander

1tsp curry powder

1tsp garam masala

1/2tsp cumin

1tsp turmeric

1tsp salt

1-14oz can crushed tomatoes

cilantro, chopped

1/4c water

In a skillet, saute onion and garlic in oil until it is tender. Add spices. Saute for a minute more. Add mushrooms and tomatoes. Gently stir. Cover and let simmer for 10-12 minutes. Stirring occasionally. Add water if dish seems to dry. After the dish has simmered, add cilantro. Serve over rice or with chapatis.

Curry with homemade chapatis.  The chapatis were so tasty and easy to make.

DSCN4591

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tuesday night we had nachos. Yum. That is usually our soup night, but I was feeling like nachos. I made the cheeze sauce from “La Dolce Vegan” to go on top. I topped them with refried beans, guacamole, Tofutti sour cream and a hatch chile salsa. They were so good. You can’t beat nachos.

DSCN4575

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yesterday I made apricot bread. The recipe comes from “How It All Vegan”. I had been wanting to make it for sometime now, but everytime I went to the store. The dried apricots looked like crap. I found some nice ones this time. The bread was terrific. So good. Arthur liked it as well.

DSCN4590

 

 

 

 

 

 

So, one of my dear friends got food poisening from a local pizza joint. He ordered chicken tenders and pizza. He said the delivery was an hour and a half late. After eating his meal a few hours later, the crap and barf fest began. It was so bad, that at one point when he thought he was well enough to go to work, he sh-t his pants at work. Ugh. After a couple of days, he is still feeling puny. Now, I am not trying to sound high and mighty and believe me I do not think that I am. But when I hear stories like this, it makes me glad I am veggie. Very few veggie people get food poisening. I do not miss meat. Not at all. I was never a big fan as a child, so there is definitely no love lost.

Today I am working on a design to make for Josh’s birthday cake. Arthur informed me that I needed to make his Daddy a dinosaur cake. Vegan of course. I think I will do the head of a T-rex on the cake. Something cartoonish and fun. Josh will get a kick out of it. As will Arthur. He is such a silly little boy.

Tomorrow night we are going to happy hour for Josh’s birthday with his coworkers. I am excited because when he gets home we will give him his birthday present. I got his road bike fixed. A while back, some douchebag of a patient at his work hit his bike intentionally while it was locked up and totally trashed the back wheel. So much that it was going to cost almost $300 to get a new one. Oy. But lucky for me, Josh’s best friend has a wheel. He put it on Josh’s bike. A perfect fit. He took it to the shop to get the bike cleaned up and all it will cost me is $52. Score! Thanks Sean. Josh has no clue, he still thinks the bike is sitting in the garage collecting dust never to be fixed in the near future.  Josh’s birthday is actually on Saturday, but he has to work. Boo! So we are celebrating Friday night.

Well I am off to work on a birthday cake. Hope you have a lovely day.

DSCN4566

 

 

 

 

 

 

DSCN4560

 

 

 

 

 

 

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

 

 

 

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “Mushroom madness…..

  1. There is nothing better then a mushroom heavy dish. As a kid I hated mushrooms too. Weird how things change.

  2. NACHOS! NACHOS!

    Okay, now that I’ve gotten that out of my system, I’ll just say that mushroom curry sounds amazing. I didn’t like mushrooms as a kid, but now I do!

    Did I mentioned NACHOS!!!!

  3. I used to hate mushrooms too, but I now I love, love, love them! The curry sounds delish, and the nachos..OMG! Nachos are the best food on the planet.

    Happy B-day Josh!

  4. i hadn’t thought about a mushroom curry before – sounds good!

  5. mushroom curry! i never thought of that! thanks for the idea!

    can’t wait to see the birthday cake:)

  6. Did you steal my glasses? hehe. Miss you guys.

  7. i can’t decide which sounds better the mushroom curry or the nachos w/ hatch chile salsa. since i’ve got all of the ingredients for the mushroom curry in my house, i’m leaning that way. can’t wait to try it out.

    so sorry your friend was ill. brings back haunting memories. that’s the worst kind of sick. before going veg, i would get the food poisoning about once a year. after reading about the unsanitary treatment in meat processing, it’s no surprise i got ill. i heard somewhere that once your system has reacted to that contamination, you’re more susceptible to repeat offenses. not sure if it’s true but i experienced it that way. i don’t miss meat either, nor do i miss food poisoning.

  8. are you kidding, this looks AWESOME! cant wait to try it out …!

  9. Pingback: hug that chicken « think outside the cage

Leave a Reply

