Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Weekend update…..

Well hello there. Our weekend was great. Busy, but awesome. Josh was off this past Saturday. He works every other Saturday. Arthur had soccer in the morning and then Campfire Kids. They went to a beautiful park. We have been before. There are trails and ponds and peacocks roaming around. Arthur was excited because he saw some baby peacocks and a water snake in the pond. He had fun exploring on the trails when we went on the nature walk. The weather was perfect as well.

Arthur practicing his “air play” with his soccer coach.

DSCN4768

 

 

 

 

 

 

DSCN4769

 

 

 

 

 

 

Arthur in his Campfire Kids vest and name tag. 

DSCN4778

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A baby peacock.  So sweet.

DSCN4814

 

 

 

 

 

 

A beautiful male peacock.

DSCN4816

 

 

 

 

 

 

Some beautiful flowers at the park.

DSCN4800

 

 

 

 

 

 

DSCN4801

 

 

 

 

 

 

DSCN4805

 

 

 

 

 

 

Josh and Adam helping Arthur color in his Nature Journal.

DSCN4819

 

 

 

 

 

 

Friday night was pizza night. Yippee! Josh is no longer working late on Friday nights so now every Friday is pizza night. Even better. We had cheeze pizzas. Such goodness.

DSCN4823

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sunday I made a hatch chile chowder. I saw Smurfette’s delicious chowder she had made from hatch chiles and I just had to have a go at it. It was freakin’ awesome. Spicy and so tasty. This recipe is definitely a keeper. I am sad hatch chile season is over. But hey, we are going to New Mexico next month. Maybe I can bring some back. Here is the recipe to share.

Roasted Hatch Chile Chowder

1 onion, chopped

3 cloves garlic, minced

oil

4c veggie broth

2c soy milk

7 roasted hatch chiles, chopped

4 medium size potatoes, cubed

2 1/2c corn

3/4c corn, reserved

1 habanero pepper, chopped

1/2tsp black pepper

1tsp salt

1/2tsp New Mexico chili powder

In a stockpot, saute onions and garlic in oil until translucent. Add broth, soy milk and chiles. Bring to a boil. Add the rest of the ingredients EXCEPT the 3/4c corn that is reserved for later. Bring to a boil again. Once boiling, reduce to a simmer until potatoes are tender. Transfer soup to a blender and puree. Transfer back to stockpot. Add reserved corn. Simmer another 7 minutes. Serve with crusty bread or biscuits.

DSCN4759

 

 

 

 

 

 

I made simple baking powder biscuits to eat with the soup. So good.

DSCN4756

 

 

 

 

 

 

Well, recently my computer crapped out. I was trying to update my blog and lost a crapload of my recipes. If any of you have copied my recipes to use, will you please email a copy to me so I can print them out and save to cook again? Thanks so much.

Here is the menu for the week.

Dinner

Mon-Szechuan broccoli w/tempeh

Tues-Stew

Wed-Green Goodness Enchiladas

Thurs-Ruebens with cajun style roasted potatoes

Fri-Pizza

Sat-leftovers

Sun-Indian Food Potluck

Breakfast

apple crumb top muffins

cranberry orange scones

This is crazy. Josh called me from work this evening and the clinic he works at has already seen over 7 cases of the Swine Flu. Ugh. That is crazy. I hope the boys don’t catch it. Geez.

Well I am off to do a bit of crafting. Hope you have a wonderful evening.

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Weekend update…..

  1. apple crumble top muffins….man i wouldn’t mind a few of those muffins right now!

    Great pics…isn’t nature just great?

  2. Ooooh everything in this post is just too good! First, the pictures are sweet and beautiful. Second, that chowder looks totally drool worthy, and finally, what a week of food you have planned. Can I come over for dinner? 😉

  3. lazysmurf on said:

    YEAH! I am so glad you liked the chowder!

  4. veganhomemade on said:

    Grown up peacocks kind of scare me, but that baby peacock is SO CUTE! I don’t think I’d be able to contain myself if I saw one in real life.

Leave a Reply

