Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Hatch chiles strike again…

Last night I made a red hatch chile pot pie. As I mentioned yesterday, Smurfette had made one and I just had to try and make a go of it. Holy cow! It was awesome. Delicious. I think next time I may try it with a cornmeal crust. This time I made it with a whole wheat pie crust and used roasted red hatch chiles in it. They are spicier than the green and oh so good. Here is the recipe. Hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

Red Hatch Chile Pot Pie

2 pie crusts (9″deep)*

2 cups cooked black beans

1 medium sweet potato, peeled, cubed and cooked until just tender

1c corn

1/2c onion, diced

oil

1tsp sea salt

1/2tsp New Mexico chile powder

1tsp cumin

3 red hatch chiles, roasted and chopped

1c veggie broth

1 1/2tbl flour

1/4c cilantro, chopped

1/8 c nutritional yeast

Preheat oven to 350F. In a small skillet, saute onion in oil until soft. In a small saucepan, bring broth to a boil. Bring to a slow simmer, add flour and stir with a whisk until flour is dissolved and mixture has thickened. In a medium size mixing bowl combine beans, sweet potato, corn, cilantro, spices, chiles, nooch, and onion. Gently combine. Stir in broth. Pour into pie crust. Top with another pie crust. Using a knife, put slits into the top of the crust. Place in oven and bake for 45-50 minutes. Let sit for 20 minutes. Serve and enjoy. *If using store pie crust. check the ingredients, some have lard in them.

DSCN4853

 

 

 

 

 

 

Well it is raining again. So, we are stuck indoors. We were supposed to go to a playdate this morning, but didn’t. The rain is nice because it actually feels like Fall here. The weather is in the 60’s instead of 90’s. I can have the oven on and house is pleasant. Gotta love the change of seasons.

Time for lunch. Hope you have a great day.

DSCN4857

 

 

 

 

 

 

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Hatch chiles strike again…

  1. I’m not sure what a hatch chili is, but I first heard about them on Eat*n Veg*n, another Texas-based blog….so I’m assuming it’s a Texas thing. I’m curious!

  2. Krys, I’ve been out of blogdom for a bit (see my own blog for details) but I’ve just sent off my assignment and can now catch up with my favourites! I’ve just spent some very pleasant time reading your recent entries.
    I always turn to your blog if I’m looking for some inspiration in the kitchen! That pie sounds just right and my mouth watered at the photo. I’ll be making this! I have no idea where I’d get hatch chillies here in Scotland, so I thought ordinary chopped chillies would do?
    Glad to see the boys looking adorable, as always. Hope Adam’s feeling better now. And well done to Arthur with his toilet training! 🙂

  3. lazysmurf on said:

    Krys, I am so excited you are inspired by my recipes! Your pot pie looks really AWESOME! A cornmeal crust for the future is a brilliant idea!

  4. I am soooo jealous that your pies stay together! mine are always a runny mess! 😦

  5. hi,
    Similar interests, mutual respect and strong attachment with each other are what friends share between each other. These are just the general traits of a friendship.
    To experience what is friendship, one must have true friends, who are indeed rare treasure.

    I have added you to my blogroll, hope you can do the same thing for me so that we can have constant communication.

Leave a Reply

