Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Musical soup for Mofo…

You know the song, “beans beans the musical fruit.”  I love beans.  Any type of beans.  We eat beans around here at least once a week.  If not more.  They are cheap, easy to cook, and good for you.  So, last night I made a black bean soup.  I had tried a chipotle black bean soup at Whole Foods a while back.  It was the only vegan soup they were serving that day.  It was phenomenal.  One of those soups, you hope you can replicate.  So so good.  Last night’s version came pretty darn close.  It was delicious and great with a side of cornbread.  Yum!

Chipotle Black Bean Soup  

1 pound dry black beans

 4 chipoles in adobo sauce, chopped

8 cups veggie broth

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1 1/2  tablespoon chili powder

2 teaspoon ground cumin

1 teaspoon ground black pepper

1 cup corn

1 teaspoon salt

2 carrots, chopped

1 bunch cilantro, chopped

1 small onion, diced

Drain black beans, and rinse. Combine beans, peppers, and broth in a slow cooker. Season with spices. Stir. Add veggies. Stir again. Cook on High in the crockpot for 5 hours. Reduce heat to Low, and continue cooking for 2 hours, or until you are ready to eat. Serve with cornbread.

DSCN5025

 

 

 

 

 

 

Last night I also made Banana Oat Bars.  The recipe came from our local coop sales flyer.  I just subbed soy margarine in place of the butter and egg replacer for the eggs.  They were so good and made a huge pan.

DSCN5031

 

 

 

 

 

 

I forgot to mention at the beginning of Mofo that there will be one week, where I will not be creating my own recipes.  That is the week we will be in New Mexico.  I will still cook and bring food.  I am just going to use some recipes that are quick and tasty that I like, that will travel well. 

Hope you have a lovely Wednesday.

DSCN5027

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

DSCN5030

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Musical soup for Mofo…

  1. I love that chipped tooth. My little snaggle tooth.

  2. I had a similar black bean chipotle soup at a potluck that I keep meaning to replicate. Black beans and chipotle go so well together!

  3. Total soup weather! I cant get enough of it! Keep posting soups!

  4. mmm the soup looks great! Love beans too!

  5. That soup looks brilliant – I need to try it!

Leave a Reply

