Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Exceptional eggplant…..

DSCN5033

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fresh eggplant from the Farmers Market.

Last night I was deciding what to cook for dinner.  I had a handful of eggplant in the fridge as well as some spinach that needed to be used.  So I made curry.  I made Baingan Bharta aka eggplant curry with some spinach leaves added.  It was so good.  I served it with some chapatis I made as well.  The boys loved the chapatis.  What’s not to love about Indian flatbread.

DSCN5036

 

 

 

 

 

 

Baingan Bharta

1 large eggplant, cut into bite-size pieces

vegetable oil

2 teaspoon cumin seeds

1 small onion, chopped

1/2tsp powdered ginger

3 cloves garlic, minced

2 tablespoon curry powder

1-15oz can chopped tomatoes

2 handfuls of fresh spinach (optional)

1/2 cup plain soy yogurt

2 thai chiles, chopped or 1/2tsp cayenne

1/4cup water

1 teaspoon salt

1/2cup cilantro, finely chopped

In a large skillet saute eggplant in oil for about 5 minutes. Add onion, garlic and thai chiles, saute for another 3-5 minutes until onion and garlic are soft. Add spices, tomato, spinach and water. Stir. Bring to a simmer. Cook 10 minutes or until eggplant is tender. Stirring occasionally. Add yogurt. Stir until yogurt is heated through. Garnish with cilantro. Serve over rice or with chapatis.

Have a Mofo of a day!

 

DSCN5003

 

 

 

 

 

 

peas and love….

Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Exceptional eggplant…..

  1. sophiapflieger on said:

    I love curry, I don’t like eggplant. But that curry makes me want to like eggplant. Looks so good.
    http://whatyourmommadidntknow.blogspot.com/

  2. DELICIOUS! I love Indian food SO much, in fact I was just craving it earlier today. Oh, I crave it every day but today it was intense! I’m going to have to give this a try.

  3. Yum! I love Indian food so, so much. In fact, on seeing this picture, I’m now having serious Indian food cravings. BTW, I just noticed how much Arthur looks like you. 🙂

  4. This is a related article discussing the benefits of eggplant

  5. Baingan bharta is my favorite Indian dish. Anything saucy makes me happy.

  6. lazysmurf on said:

    mmmm I love indian food!

  7. I had Indian for dinner last night and for lunch today. It’s good food!

  8. I LOVE curry. Yours looks so delicious and it sounds so good with eggplant and spinach. You have such cute boys!!!:)

Leave a Reply

