Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Hurry up Mofo….

Yesterday I was tired, feeling a bit crappy

 and did not feel like cooking.  This is very rare for me.  I love to cook.  I love to eat and I love shopping for food more than going to the mall.  I did not want to order take-away for a number of reasons.  I love to save money because I am cheap and some of the restaraunts in the Southside are mediocre.  We are also going on our trip soon, so I would rather use the money for that.  And I figured I could throw something together quick.  Well here you go.  I made a sundried tomato pesto.  Josh loved it as well as myself and the boys.  I was very surprised that a 3 year old and an 11 month old would eat sundried tomato pesto over pasta. They did!  I served it with an Italian quick bread I made from the cookbook “How It All Vegan”.   I added Italian herbs and garlic to it and omitted the raisins and nuts.  So good.  Josh said that if this was my idea of an easy and quick meal in which I did not care to cook.  He was very impressed and said that this would have cost about $8.50 or more at a nice Italian restaurant.  He is so sweet.  Here is the recipe.  Delicious and simple. 

Sundried Tomato Pesto

1c sundried tomatoes, packed

4 cloves garlic

1/2c pinenuts

1/4c nutritional yeast

1c olive oil

1/4t black pepper

1/2t salt

1/2c basil

1T balsalmic vinegar

1/4c water, optional

Place all the ingredients in a food processor. Puree. Add the water if the pesto seems to thick. Garnish with fresh basil and pinenuts.

DSCN5043

 

 

 

 

 

 

It is Friday. Yippee!  It is raining here.  So, we will be staying indoors.  The best thing about Friday is Friday Night Pizza.  Tonite I am making a roasted eggplant and roasted garlic pizza with fresh basil.  Yum.  And a cheeze pizza for the boys. 

Hope you have a wonderful day.  Keep up the Mofo!

DSCN5002

 

 

 

 

 

 

peas and love….

Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “Hurry up Mofo….

  1. Awwww that is sweet. It looks and sounds delicious.

  2. He IS sweet and that pasta looks delicious! So creamy and goooood!

  3. Krys, you are an amazing woman! You cook even when you “don’t cook.” My idea of not cooking is heating up a veggie burger in the microwave and eating it with some chips…or slapping together a PB sandwich.

  4. Wow you’re really super-mom!

    Josh is so sweet!
    Lucky you:)

  5. Sorry you were feeling crappy Krys. Hope you feel better soon! The food really does look great!

  6. I made english muffin pizzas last night! Go pizza go!

  7. That pasta looks yummy. I love quick and easy cooking idea like this, thanks for sharing. Hope you’re feeling better. 🙂

  8. pesto pasta is absolutely my go-to dish when I’m pressed for time or just can’t be bothered cooking! This sounds like a delicious variation – thanks!

  9. i think you might like greenerfolks.com

Leave a Reply

