Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Hey Mofo! I’m back….

Yes, I am back.  Just for a couple of days and then I head to New Mexico for a week.  Yippee!  After literally sterilizing our home Wednesday evening and doing what seemed like 30 loads of laundry.  We are back to some normalcy around here.  The boys are happy to be home and scattering toys everywhere.  And I am happy to be back in my kitchen cooking.  I really am not so fond of eating out all the time.  I will mention one great meal we had at a local restaraunt.  We had breakfast at Kerbey Lane the next morning after sh-t water was all over our home.  See previous post if you have no idea what I am talking about.  They had a few new items on their menu and one was a Vegan Breakfast Platter.  It consisted of tofu scramble, vegan sausage and a vegan blueberry pancake. It was terrific.  The tofu scramble was some of the best I have had.  The sausage was good, it was crispy on the outside, but a little to mushy on the inside for me.  The pancake was perfect, large and full of blueberries.  A perfect breakfast for a literally crappy previous evening.

DSCN5142

 

 

 

 

 

 

I also wanted thank everyone for the kind words left on my previous post regarding our sewage disaster.  We are home now.  And I hope and pray this never ever happens again.  Last night I was in a hurry so I made a stroganoff recipe.  It is a take off of Isa’s recipe from the PPK site.  I had some cremini mushrooms that needed to be used.  It was delicious.  Arthur even liked it.  I am amazed that my 3 year old and soon to be 1 year old will eat such food.  A lot of my friends say they can’t get their kids to eat anything but mac and cheeze and pb&j.  Lets hope my boys keep enjoying such a diverse diet.

DSCN5146

 

 

 

 

 

 

Last night I made a black bean hummus. I am taking it with us on our trip to New Mexico.  We are actually bringing all of our own food while on holiday.  As most of you know it is hard to find vegan meals while travelling.  I checked the happycow site and there was not much for food in NM.  The hummus was terrific.  I wanted a change from traditional chickpea hummus and I didn’t want to do a chipotle black bean hummus because it would be to strong for the boys.  This was full of flavor and we can all enjoy it.  The picture is not so pretty.  Sorry.

Black Bean Hummus

1c dried black beans, cooked until tender

1/4c bean water, reserved

4 cloves garlic

2T tahini

1t cumin

1t salt

1/4t cayenne pepper

1T olive oil

juice of half a lemon

paprika, sprinkled on top

Place all ingredients in food processor except paprika.  Puree until smooth.  Transfer to a bowl.  Sprinkle with paprika. Serve with tortilla chips or fresh veggies.  Enjoy!

DSCN5148

 

 

 

 

 

 

Well I am off to do some more cooking and packing for our trip. I hope you have a wonderful day and a terrific weekend.  I will try to post tomorrow before I leave, if not definitely when I get back.

DSCN5129

 

 

 

 

 

 

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Hey Mofo! I’m back….

  1. I’m so glad to hear that you are back home and cooking! I am not a fan of going out to eat myself- I just don’t like the idea of other people cooking the food in a kitchen that I can’t see! (You can tell I work in the restaurant business) Have a safe trip 🙂

  2. Have a great time on your trip! Glad you are back home.

  3. *rushes off to read the blog post I’ve so obviously missed!*

  4. So glad you’ve moved back in and everything’s OK.
    AND you’ve got your holiday to look forward to, no wonder you’re smiling
    🙂

  5. Glad your house is all clean now!!!! And the pancakes are so drool-worthy. God, I wish I had a pancake right now.

  6. Have a fantastic time in New Mexico and remember to take lots of pix! Me and the kidlets are off next week to Dumfries and Galloway for a week so we will be taking our own food too!

Leave a Reply

