Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Tuesday, Soup Day….

Good morning. I am up way to early. I would prefer to still be in bed being cuddled by our new dog and two lazy little boys. Oh well, that’s not going to happen. How are you this Wednesday morning?

 

Today starts a “65 Day Challenge”. I posted it on Facebook and was excited to see some of my friends participating. Seeing how I want to save money and the fact that our economy is still in the crapper, I figured “why not?” What is the “65 Day Challenge” you ask? Well here goes. For the next 65 days, I am not going out to eat. The idea is to see how much money you would really save eating at home. So, when you are tempted to go out to eat, put the money you would have spent in a jar or if you use a credit card, write down on a piece of paper how much you would have spent dining out including tip. Place it in the jar. On New Year’s Eve, open the jar and see how much dough you saved, or tally up what you would have spent on your credit card. It will be well worth it. Remember, next time you want to go out to eat, think twice. Make a sandwich, thaw something out of the freezer or throw toegether a quick meal. You in? Keep me posted.

Now, onto the food. Tuesday is soup day or crockpot day. I was feeling like a mushroom soup of some type. We went to the Farmers Market this past Saturday and bought half a pound of cremini mushrooms from the local mushroom farmer. I made soup in the crockpot. This is a “everything but the kitchen sink” type of soup. I got various veggies from the freezer and fridge and rummaged through the pantry. It made a lot and it was very good. I froze part of the leftovers and saved the other leftovers for lunch today. I served it with the oat bread I made on Monday. Oh how I love comfort food.

“Everything but the kitchen sink” Mushroom Soup

8c veggie broth

1/3c yellow splitpeas

1/2c TVP chunks

3 cloves garlic, minced

1/2 onion, chopped

olive oil

1/2lb cremini mushrooms, chopped

3 carrots, sliced

1/2c wild rice, uncooked

1c green peas

1t pepper

1t salt

3 sprigs fresh thyme

Saute garlic and onion in the olive oil until soft. Now throw everything in the crockpot. Cook on high heat for 8 hours. Once finished, remove thyme stems. Serve with some crusty bread. Easy and delicious.

DSCN0233

 

 

 

 

 

 

DSCN0231

 

 

 

 

 

 

Well I am off to do some chores. Hope you have a lovely Wednesday.

DSCN0097

 

 

 

 

 

 

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Tuesday, Soup Day….

  1. Oooh add me on face book – I’m Jeni Treehugger there too. We don’t go out to eat that often because places that are vegan friendly are limited to 3 and even then there’s only one or two things I can have off the menu. But this is a good idea for people who do eat out a lot. There’s a TV show on in the UK called Take on the Take-aways and it basically involves a top chef competing with someones favourite local take-away and seeing how his food compares with theres in price, taste and speediness. The chef ALWAYS wins on the price factor and more often than not on the taste and speediness too.
    I was up mega early this morning as well (6.30 to be precise) and had oodles of housework to do in preparation of my brother and his girlfriend coming to stay. At least getting up so early means that 90% of the housework is done. Why is it that I have to pull out all the furniture and vacuum behind EVERYTHING when I have house guests coming to stay? It’s not as if they go looking under furniture for dust bunnies or anything.

  2. The soup and oat bread look fantabulous! And I doubt I’d save much in the 65 day challenge since I only eat out once every couple weeks. But good luck with it!

Leave a Reply

