Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

I like it spicy…

Good morning. How are you this Thursday morning? I am great. I am excited because some friends in my surrounding neighborhood want to start a dinner coop. Yippee! Homecooked meals for free. It is like going out to eat, but with no bill. I love it. And they are willing to go vegan for this coop. Even better. I love trying new vegan dishes. I can’t wait.

Speaking of food and cooking. Last night I made a Szechuan dish. It was so good. I used some fresh green beans and eggplant I bought at the Farmers Market last week. I added some tempeh that I marinated in tamari and baked. I sauteed the veggies in some sesame oil, added the tempeh and poured a Szechuan sauce over the veggies. Letting it simmer for a couple of minutes. The Szechuan veggies were served over brown rice. Oh so good. I am looking forward to leftovers today. Here is the Szechuan sauce recipe. Easy and delicious!
Szechuan Sauce

4T rice vinegar

3T fresh ginger, minced

4 cloves garlic, minced

1t red pepper flakes

1c water or veggie broth

4t cornstarch

3T tamari

2T Sriracha sauce

2t turbinado

In a small saucepan, combine broth with the cornstarch. Whisk to dissolve the cornstarch. Add all the other ingredients. Bring to a boil. Lower to a slow simmer. Stir until thickened. Pour over veggies. Making sure everything is coated. Serve over rice or noodles.

DSCN0236

 

 

 

 

 

 

What are your plans for Halloween? We were supposed to go to a party but Josh has to work. So the boys and I will stay home and pass out candy, run to Nana Donna’s to say “hi” and let the boys trick or treat at her place and the neighbors and then I have some cleaning and things to do since we are having people over on Sunday. We bought the boys a pumpkin yesterday and Arthur is so excited about it being carved. He and little brother are going as superheroes. Arthur wants to be Spiderman and he informed me that Adam needed to be Superman. I found a cute Superman shirt with a little cape attached to it for a $1 at the thrift store. And Arthur recieved a Spiderman costume for his birthday. I am going as a devilish gal. I will wear some red sequin devil horns, and a tail. Simple and cheap. Josh’s work is having a Halloween contest. So, tomorrow morning I am waking up with him to help him get ready. He is going to be a modern day Snow White and the ladies he works with are the dwarves. He looked so funny last night putting on the clothes and wig. Geez. His co-workers will be laughing so hard they won’t get anything done.

Well I am off to eat some breakfast. Hope you have a lovely day.

DSCN0039

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

DSCN0042

 

 

 

 

 

 

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

 

 

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “I like it spicy…

  1. The dinner co-op sounds like tons of fun! And how exciting that they’re going to make vegan food so you can eat! Maybe they’ll end up going vegan forever…

  2. A dinner co-op sounds great fun! I’ve inherited my mum’s distrust of hygeine standards in public eateries so I think this would be the best of both worlds! That Szechuan dish looks delicious – I like spicy food too and I’m glad to say the kids are beginning to accept spicier foods too!

  3. That looks like one spicy sauce! I love spicy…..

    Way to get the vegan word out with the coop! And how awesome that they are willing to make it vegan!!!!1

Leave a Reply

