Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Mmm casserole…..

I just love casseroles. They are like comfort food to me. Warm and filling. Last night I made a Mexican casserole. It was just something I threw together. And it was awesome. We all enjoyed it and it made a lot. Yum!

Mexican Casserole

corn tortillas

1-12oz pkg burger crumbles

1 small onion, diced

oil

taco seasoning

1 1/2c dry pinto beans, cooked, drained and seasoned

cheeze sauce (I used sauce recipe from The Garden of Vegan, double the recipe)

2 cans rotel tomatoes w/chiles-pureed in the blender

Preheat oven to 350F. Saute burger crumbles and onion in oil and taco seasoning. Set aside. Lightly spray a 9X13 casserole dish. Pour a thin layer of rotel in bottom of pan. Start with a layer of tortillas, I used 6. Next a layer of beans, then burger crumbles, drizzle w/cheeze sauce. Pour more rotel sauce on top. Layer with tortillas. Repeat with beans, burger crumbles, cheeze sauce, rotel and tortillas. Repeat until you run out of beans and burger crumbles. Top with tortillas, pour the rest of the rotel sauce on top. Then drizzle remaining cheeze sauce on top. Bake in oven for 30 minutes. Garnish with fresh tomatoes, cilantro and “sour” cream.

DSCN0288

 

 

 

 

 

 

Adam seems to be feeling better. Thankfully. We plan to take it easy the rest of the week and weekend. Poor guy. He was just miserable. I hate to see my boys under the weather. Thank you for all the well wishes.

I went to the grocery store last night while Josh watched Adam. Athur went with me. He had fun. I decided to go early since I would be solo with the boys this weekend and didn’t really want to take Adam out anywhere. Since it is cold and flu season. I prefer to keep them indoors. And no storytime tonite due to Adam recooperating. The local library has “Pajama Storytime” on Thursday evenings which is awesome. We go to storytime and then checkout books. Arthur loves it. Unfortunately it will be postponed. Hopefully next week.

This was disgusting. Well the smell was anyway. Yesterday Zeke came in from playing outside and he smelled like death. The smell was so bad my nostrils were on fire. I thought maybe it was his breath and he ate something out of the compost. Josh came home and could smell him too and we saw a small white streak on his back. That was where the smell was coming from. Apparently he got sprayed by a stink bug. Oh my, you cannot even understand how foul he smelled. It was awful. I kept telling Arthur “don’t pet Zeke, he smells like poo poo”. We bathed him and had a good laugh later. Geez.

I can’t believe the weekend is already here. This week has seem to gone by so quickly. Josh has to work Saturday, again. Boo! I hope to make some animal crackers with the boys and let Arthur paint.

DSCN5351

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hope you have a lovely day.

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Mmm casserole…..

  1. lazysmurf on said:

    I started reading about your casserole and was going mmmm then I saw the title!!! Love it, glad Adam is feeling better!

  2. That casserole looks and sounds DELICIOUS! I am really hungry now…

  3. That casserole looks delicious – I love food like that on nights like this!

  4. Glad to hear Adam is feeling better!

    That cheeze sauce looks awesome – you have mentioned it before so it must be good!

  5. I made the Mexican Casserole for a work potluck. Such goodness! I added green chilies with the rotel. Yummm.

Leave a Reply

