Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Eating animals…..

Animal crackers that is. Yesterday I made flax seed animal crackers. The recipe comes from “How It All Vegan”. They were delicious. The boys loved them. Arthur kept saying “I need another animal cookie”. They were seasoned with garlic powder and Italian seasoning. Adam kept signing “eat”. It is such a healthy snack too. I used my farm animal cookie cutters. It would have been easier cutting squares, but cookie cutters are so much more fun. As you can see, there is a barn, a cow, a pig and a sheep. Arthur loved eating and playing with them. I also made some mocha chip muffins from VWAV. I love these muffins. And I made some banana bread. I use the recipe from The PPK. It is simple and delicious. Why all the baking? In an effort to avoid doing laundry, I really dislike doing laundry. I wanted to at least do something productive, so I baked.

DSCN0290

 

 

 

 

 

 

Next weekend I am going to volunteer at the Johnson’s Backyard Garden. I am very excited about this. I am going with Smurfette. She went last month. It should be fun. It is a family, locally owned organic garden. You volunteer a couple of hours and in exchange you get a big box of fresh organic veggies from the farm. I am also looking forward to learning more about vegetable gardening. We plan to have a huge Spring and Summer garden next year.

What are your plans for the weekend? We are staying indoors. Adam is better. I am keeping his activities low so he can be back to 100%. I think I will let Arthur help me in the garden. He loves the garden. Josh has to work too. I recently found a nice wooden wardrobe on the street a neighbor was getting rid of, so I hope to paint it.

DSCN0098

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Well I am off to have some breakfast. Hope you have a lovely weekend.

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Eating animals…..

  1. So funny – I was looking for this recipe today in between all my mad Friday rushing around as I wanted to make some flax crackers for a healthy school snack for Megan!!! Thanks for pointing me in the direction of the right Kramer cookbook! Glad to hear Adam is on the mend, too. Repainting a wardrobe, eh? Thrift and craftiness really do go hand in hand, don’t they? I spotted a gorgeous 1960s sideboard in the backyard of the Council furniture resale place in Bathgate – I think I’ll be taking a little walk down tomorrow to find out what’s happening with it… Have a good weekend!

  2. Yay for eating animal crackers, yours are so adorable.

    Our weekend is over. Here in Saudi the weekends are Thursday and Friday, so we are back to work tomorrow! We had a great weekend, though, lots of good food, good fun, and good friends. And lots and lots of s’mores. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. community gardens are great. I am glad to see that people still do them. There seem to be very few in Atlanta.

  4. Cute crackers! I’ll have to look for that recipe! And I’ve been dying to try those Mocha Chip Muffins!

  5. Those cookie look great! I might make them into squares though… I lack cute cookie cutters.

    Speaking of laundry, I just finished making that liquid detergent! I am letting it sit in out laundry area for 24 hours to thicken up… I hope it does anyway. Dru wanted to use it and I said… “you can use some.” ๐Ÿ™‚ It is kinda a lot of work in comparison to buying detergent, you know? Time is money.

  6. These are cute- I want to make them for my niece and nephew! Krys thank you so much for the birthday wishes- Your so sweet!

Leave a Reply

