Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Playing with pie….

Last night I made a portabello mushroom pot pie. It had portabellos, button mushrooms, carrots, onion, celery, tvp, fresh sage, fresh thyme and a vegetable broth gravy. I made a funny face on the top crust for the boys. Arthur loved the pie. He said “what’s his name?” We told him it is “Paulie the pot pie”. He said “oooh, I want to try some.” Which of course we loved. We are fortunate that our boys we eat almost everything, but when I am not sure if they will, I try to do something fun with the dinner, whether it be making a silly face on a pot pie, or letting Arthur help with dinner, or using fun shaped pasta. Something to make it interesting. When Josh saw the pie he said it was awesome. The face and the taste. We are very silly in our home and since I love to cook, I try to make eating your vegetables fun.

Paulie the pot pie.

 

 

 

 

 

 

“Paulie” full of vegetables.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yesterday morning I did my weekly baking. I made apricot bread and blueberry banana muffins. The apricot bread is a recipe from “How It All Vegan”. It is delicious. I love dried apricots. The muffin recipe is from “La Dolce Vegan”. Simple and tasty.

What are your Thanksgiving plans? We are going to a friend’s house for Thanksgiving. She has her hands full with three new children she adopted so myself and another friend are cooking her a big dinner. I will miss seeing my family but it is nice to help another person. I am cooking a big Thanksgiving dinner on “Black Friday” for Josh and the boys. While everyone is out going crazy shopping we will be indoors eating and watching movies and going to the playground if weather permits. Here is our menu for Thanksgiving:

tofurky
gravy
mashed potatoes
chipotle lime sweet potatoes
mockloaf
green bean casserole
biscuits
corn
pecan pie
pumpkin pie
cranberry sauce

Speaking of Tofurky. I went a little crazy with the Tofurky this year. I bought three. The local coop had them on sale for $8.99 which is the best price in town. Since Tofurky is once a year. I wanted to have one for Christmas as well. I am taking one to my friend’s home and there will most likely be leftoevers which is fine by me. I “heart” Tofurky.

I read an article last week on Yahoo news about clotheslines. The article said that some states have problems with people having clotheslines in their yard. So much that 5 states have actually banned having a clothesline. I thought this was not cool. Not cool at all. I think a person should be allowed to have a clothesline in their backyard. People who hang their clothes out to dry instead of using a dryer save an average of $83 a month on their electric bill. In the South it is so warm that the clothes will dry within an hour. And we do not get rain that often. I think that they should be allowed, but some politics seem to disagree.

Our dinner coop starts next week. I am super excited. There are 4 families involved so that means that we will get three vegan meals delivered to us each week. Terrific! We are doing a one month trial run to see how it works out and if anyone has any problems or needs to drop out of the coop. It is a great group of families so I hope it works. I am making the ancho chile lentil soup from V-con. I will be serving it with a salad and homemade baguettes. The meals the other mums have listed sound so tasty. And it is also nice to cut back on the grocery bill. Yippee!

Well I am off to make a big crockpot full of chili. It is chilly and rainy today. It will be a nice, warm and hearty meal to go with some cornbread.

Hope you have a lovely Tuesday.

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Playing with pie….

  1. The mushroom pot pie sounds delicious…and it’s so nice of you to cook dinner for your busy friend for Thanksgiving. I love Tofurkey too, but I’ve bought a Field Roast brand Celebration Roast for the past couple of years and I love it too. It’s much smaller than a Tofurkey, which is good for me since I’m the only one in my family that eats it.

Leave a Reply

