Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Weekend update…..

How was your Thanksgiving? I was a bit under the weather, so I stayed home Thanksgiving Day while Josh and the boys went to our friend’s home. We did celebrate our own family Thanksgiving over the weekend. I made a ton of food. We also went to the children’s parade. The boys had fun seeing the floats and characters walking downtown. Afterwards, we had a picnic on the Capitol grounds. We brought Zeke. He did so well at the parade. He would let people pet him. On the Capitol grounds we had lunch and the boys and Zeke played. It was a beautiful day.

A plate of Thanksgiving goodness.  And a turkey Arthur made.  He actually  made one for each of us.  So cute.

Arthur helping roll out the pie crust.

Arthur also helped me make the pies. We had pumpkin pie and chocolate pecan pie. Josh said that you would never know they were vegan. He loved them and so did the boys. So rich and delicious.

 

Sunday was my birthday. Josh took me out to lunch to celebrate and bought a vegan cookies and cream cake for me. It was terrific and delicious. He and the boys got me some wonderful gifts and we had such a great day. I love my family. By the way, thank you each for the lovely birthday wishes. It was also my 5 year cancer anniversary. It still makes me sad to know we lost our pregnancy, because I wonder what the baby would have looked like and how much fun Arthur and Adam would have had with their older sibling. When I was pregnant we nicknamed it Fife. For my Scottish friends, it is for the Kingdom of Fife where Joshua and I were married. I am thankful everyday for my beautiful boys Arthur and Adam and am so very blessed. I also know that they have an angel named Fife looking over them.We went to Whole Foods Sunday to grab a few things. We had parked underground because it was supposed to rain. Well, when we were leaving, there was a box of garbage near our car. In one of the boxes was a wilted airplane plant. It was limp and thrown away due to it looking not so desireable to leave on the showfloor of the floral department. Score! After some watering and hanging it outdoors, it is already starting to look great. Thanks Whole Foods.

Saturday was a dear friend of mine’s birthday. I made her a pillow. I embroidered a squid, placed it on some pink spotted fabric, framed it with a pale pink, stuffed it and made the backing a navy blue. I stopped by and surprised her with it. She loved it.

I also got a surprise Sunday morning, I almost forgot to mention. I woke up and Josh had made me blueberry pancakes for my birthday. While I was sitting in the living room drinking coffee, there was a knock on our front door and it was Godmommy Mary. She brought over my birthday present. It was a ceramic mini loaf pan that makes 4 mini loaves at a time. I can’t wait to use it. It is awesome. And that evening, another friend stopped by with a birthday gift. She had brought me flowers, a beautiful flower barret she made and some raw chocolate. It was such a nice surprise.The dinner co-op starts this week. I hope it works out. We are doing a month trial run. The meals sound delicious. And they are all vegan. Awesome! Tonites dish was a sweet potato curry over basmati rice. It was perfect. Adam loved it as well. Arthur denied it. He has been very picky lately. Normally he eats all that we offer him, but lately he has been saying “no”. So he opted for pb&j. Adam on the other hand, is our bottomless pit. He eats everything and comes back for seconds and thirds. Arthur went through a phase when he was a year old of not wanting much to eat and he seems to be doing it again. Tonite he had raw veggies and fruit. And I am going to give him some crackers and peanut butter for a snack later.

My little bottomless pit of a baby.

 

 

 Well I am off to get the boys ready for bed. Hope you have a lovely evening.

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

 

 

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Weekend update…..

  1. Those pies look great. I hope you feel better soon!

  2. Happy belated birthday! Sounds like it was a wonderful day, but sorry you felt bad on Thanksgiving. Also, I didn’t know you’d had cancer?! Survivors are awesome! I have a few breast cancer survivors in my family!

  3. I love the photo of Arthur and the rolling pin. so good!

  4. OMG what adorable pics! I bet the pie was even better with the extra help. Feel better soon!

  5. Hi, again,

    I just figured out I made my comments on the wrong post last time. I’m used to the comment section being on the bottom, oops. Anyways, thank you for visiting my blog – I’m going to make you a link in mine. And, yes, I love your blog and the fact that you are also raising your children to be loving to animals. 🙂 Take care, and I hope you visit again. If you ever need an ear on the sensitive subject of our Heavenly babies, I’m here for you…

  6. Sorry you weren’t feeling great for Thanksgiving, Krys, but glad you had such a nice birthday. I wonder why so many people brought you nice gifts??? Could it have anything to do with you being such a sweet person???
    We LOVE pecan pie and pumpkin pie! What a sweet wee assistant baker! And an adorable bottomless pit! And Zeke looks like such a cuddly fellow! 🙂

Leave a Reply

