Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Dining at home….

…Co-op style. Free, delicious, homecooked vegan meals delivered to my front door. The vegan dinner co-op that I am part of is going well. It is 4 families and we each cook a meal once a week. This week was the first week. It is really strange for me not to cook 5-6 times a week. When 5:00 rolls around, I can relax three days a week instead of cooking dinner right off the bat. I love to cook, but it is a nice break. And the meals have been delicious. Nothing beats homemade vegan food delivered to you. Monday night, one of the mother’s brought over a sweet potato curry with basmati rice. It was garnished with fresh mint. It was very tasty and the mint was a perfect addition. She also included mini gingerbread muffins which the boys scarfed down. Tuesday night we were delivered a Spicy Eggplant Stew with Potatoes, Mushrooms & Chickpeas, whole wheat bread and a salad. The stew was so filling and delicious, I had no room for the salad so I opted to eat it for lunch the next day. The bread was homemade and so soft. Wow. Arthur had three slices of it and Adam had two. I am going to try to make the bread. Wednesday was my day to cook. The weather here has been cold and rainy, so I cooked the ancho chile lentil soup from V-con. I made some homemade baguettes using the recipe from The Garden of Vegan and served it with a salad and a spicy mustard vinagrette. I also made mac and cheeze for the kids and threw in some mixed veggies. Thursday night was another soup night. I know some of you might be thinking “soup twice in once week.” It was not a bad thing, believe me. The soups were different enough that it was not overkill. Plus it has been cold here and perfect for soup weather. Insert the quote from Austin Powers “It’s freakin’ freezing in here Mr. Bigglesworth.” Thursday night we were delivered a orange flavored black bean soup, homemade Ezekial bread and a side salad. I love beans and I especially “heart” black beans, so this soup was right up my alley. And who doesn’t love bread. Well maybe the people on the Atkins diet. Boy are they missing out. We are a bread loving family. And nothing beats homemade bread. It was funny to eat salads this week. As Josh once mentioned, we do not eat a lot of salads. People assume that all we vegetarians and vegans eat are salads. Not true. The salads were good and they were a great addition to the meals. As I mentioned in a previous post, the dinner co-op is doing a 1 month trial run. I hope it works out. The meals are delicious, there is minimal dishes and it isn’t difficult to cook for three other families. You just double your recipe. Our fridge and bellies are full of goodness. 

Sweet potato curry

Spicy Eggplant Stew with Potatoes, Mushrooms & Chickpeas

ancho chile lentil soup

 

 
Orange-scented black bean soup
Oh, and another great thing about a dinner co-op. It cuts down on the grocery bill since I cook three less meals a week. Now that’s a sweet deal!

Okay, so it has been cold here. Well, by our standards anyway. Nothing like Alaska. But, they did mention on the news that we might get some snow tomorrow. It is supposed to be 22 degrees in the morning. I hope there is some snow for the boys to see. I think they would love it.

Hope you have a wonderful day and a great weekend. Tonite is pizza night. Yippee!

My two little artists.

 

 peas and love….
Krys and the boys
 

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Dining at home….

  1. I just love this vegan co-op idea – and the food all looks so good! We don’t eat a lot of salad either, and that famous vegan standby – soup and a salad – has completely bypassed us due to Rupert’s dislike of eating hot and cold things at the same meal. To say he has food issues would be an understatement… lol

  2. It sounds like the dinner co-op is a hit! Soup twice in one week sounds good to me! What’s better than a hot bowl of soup and some homemade bread to warm up on a cold night! I’m a bread lover too, and it would be very hard to give it up if I had to do it for health reasons! *shudders*

  3. This vegan co-op is such an AWESOME idea!! I would love to do something like this…..
    And I know what you mean Krys; as much as I love to cook there’s nothing quite like having food cooked for you! And all those meals sound amazing. Oh….and I have soup EVERY day this time of year – whether it’s for lunch or for dinner – I am a soup-a-holic.
    🙂

  4. The food all looks so wonderful. You’re right – it’s so nice to have someone cook VEGAN food for you – no trying to guess from the menu what you might be able to eat!

    We are expecting 10-12 inches of snow tomorrow night!

  5. I have never made a sweet potato curry. It is something I have always been interested in but never done. Yours looks amazing. I hope you had a great weekend!

  6. This co-oop idea sounds so fabulous to me. I have a couple of questions for you – how did it get started? Did you limit it to families with children? We have three children, so I’m thinking it would be overwhelming for a single person to cook for us. Also, you still found your grocery bill smaller even though you’re buying enough for three other families? That’s got to be because you’re buying more of the same thing, I’m guessing. I’m getting inspired to start one up, if I knew just a little bit more. Oh, and we loooove soup. That’s not to much for my gang. Have a great week!

  7. Hey Krys! Just looking at your blog since I actually have free time at the moment, on winter break 🙂 glad you started a dinnershare! are they all people that you knew already? are other people vegan or are they just cooking vegan? what dishes are you using? would love to hear the details. also, we are on hiatus at the moment for the holidays, but our blog is http://dinnershare.wordpress.com . It’s really just for us to keep a record but it is helpful to look back. And my friends’ is http://dinnersharing.wordpress.com . We have been doing it for over a year now and it is awesome! We had some wrinkles recently but really for a whole year of interaction not bad 🙂

    Anyway – you all may want to keep a blog for a record — it’s really cool to look back and get ideas when you get stopped up, or remember what people like. We also found when we started that we never ate salads but the other families did, and it’s actually pretty nice to eat a salad sometimes 🙂

Leave a Reply

