Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Still co-oping…..

Eating with the dinner co-op has been terrific. This is our second week. Here are the meals we ate this time around. Monday night we were delivered a white bean and sage dish. I served it with brown rice and we also got cornbread muffins to accompany the dish. It was a simple but very tasty dish. The boys loved the cornbread muffins and Arthur especially liked the cornbread in the shape of cactus. Tuesday we were delivered Seitanic Red and White Bean Jambaya with corn on the cob and cajun margarine to go with the corn. The recipe comes from V-con and let me just say, if you have V-con and you have not made this recipe yet, you are missing out. I have been wanting to make it and tasted it for the first time Tuesday. Wow! It was awesome. And I love corn on the cob especially with seasoned margarine. I was so glad we had leftovers to eat the next day. Wednesday was my night. I made a Mexican casserole. It is a recipe I recently created and it apparently has been a hit. Godmommy Mary made it for her coworkers and everyone loved it and I recieved a great compliment when Mary said the casserole cured her craving for cheese enchiladas. Such a nice thing to say. I served the dish with some Mexican rice which by no means is authentic. I just seasoned it with cumin, chili powder, salt and pepper. It was pretty tasty. I fried the rice first with some onion, then added tomato sauce and veg broth. Thursday evening we were brought a Lentil Shepherd’s Pie and a salad with a mustard vinagrette for dinner. I love Shepherd’s Pie and any kind of comfort food. Especially in the Winter. This week the weather has been cold and very damp, so this hit the spot. Like I said before, I am really starting to enjoy this dinner co-op. I hope it continues.

White beans with sage and corn muffins.

Seitanic Red and White Bean Jambalaya

Cajun corn

Mexican casserole(picture courtesy of marylamb)

Lentil Shepherd’s Pie

Tonite we are going to Josh Christmas work party. We saw the dinner menu and there is actually food we can eat. Yippee! It is family friendly so the boys are coming along. Pending Arthur is better. He has had a cough this week and has feeling a bit puny. But he might be up for some dancing, facepainting, balloon animals and food. We shall see.
Tomorrow we are going to a Hanukkah Potluck. Tonite is the first night of Hanukkah. Happy Hanukkah. Josh is Jewish so we celebrate Hanukkah and Christmas. I know it is strange to some people but we chose to be open-minded and celebrate both holidays and tell the story about them to the boys when they are older. I am making sweet potato latkes for the potluck and some kind of dessert. I haven’t decided what yet.

What are your weekend plans? Hope it is great.

Even stay at home mum’s get to dress up once in a while. πŸ™‚

peas and love…..

Krys and the boys

Β 

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Still co-oping…..

  1. That shepherds pie lentil dish looks great! I also like the blue and black! Everyone should dress up once in awhile! Its fun! πŸ˜‰

  2. i love the little cactus shaped corn muffins!

  3. Krys, you look gorgeous! I love your “K” pendant! πŸ™‚

    Oh my, those little catus-shaped cornbreads! How cute! Do you think you will post the recipe for your mexican casserole? I’ve been looking for one that would be suitable for our new low-wheat diet.

    Happy Hanukkah! I hope you had a great time at the party!

  4. The Mexican casserole looks fabulous! Hope you will post the recipe.

    You look gorgeous! It is so nice to dress up. We did also on Saturday when we went to a 5oth b-day party. Nice change from my usual jeans and sweatshirt!

Leave a Reply

