Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Weekend update…..

How was your weekend? Our was nice. It seemed very busy and went by quick as well as not feeling very rested once Monday arrived. Friday evening we went to a Christmas party for Josh’s work. It was at a fancy hotel downtown. We got to dress up and since it was a family party, the boys came along. They served Mexican food, so we ate tortillas, salsa & chips, guacamole, beans and rice. At least we got to enjoy the dinner. Most Christmas party dinners are a bust for vegans. There was an elf for the kids to enjoy. She painted faces and made animal balloons. A DJ was playing music. I think all the kids used the dancefloor more than the adults. They were running around balloon sword fighting and being very silly. Arthur would go onto the dance floor and play and then would join us to eat. It was very good to hear from at least 5 different people the comment “Your boys are the best behaved children here. They are so calm and polite.” That was nice. In the lobby of the hotel there was a giant gingerbread city. It was awesome. I’m sure it took a lot of work. I would enjoy creating a masterpiece like that. When I showed it to Arthur, he said to me, “I need that in my mouth.” He is so silly.

 

Saturday we went to some friends home for a Hanukkah potluck. I brought sweet potato latkes and potato pancakes. It was pretty much a starch-filled potluck of goodness. There was vegan mac and cheeze as well as Hanukkah sugar cookies, vegan of course. We stayed for about an hour and then took the boys to see Christmas lights.

Arthur loves to help me bake. If he sees me in the kitchen getting out the flour then he will drag a dining room chair to the counter and say, “I want to help.” He helped make my chunky monkey brownie recipe and some Hanukkah sugar cookies. As you can tell from the chocolate on his face, he really enjoys being a helper and licking the bowl.  By the way, Josh is Jewish, so we celebrate Hanukkah and Christmas.

Last night I made a Mattar Tofu Paneer. I had tried it once before at a potluck I hosted. Godmommy Mary brought it over. It was so good, I hand to make it for us. The recipe comes from Vegan Dad  . And it is great. Simple ingredients and full of flavor.

 

Recently I read an article online titled “The 7 Foods Experts Won’t Eat”. I was happy to see that I do not eat 6 out of the 7 nor does my family. But the one I do eat, I was not pleased to see on the list. Ugh. The food was canned tomatoes and here is what it had to say. Here is the link. http://shine.yahoo.com/channel/health/the-7-foods-experts-wont-eat-547963/

Yesterday I was in the grocery store doing our weekly shopping. A girl walks up to me and introduces herself. She tells me that she is a hairstylist and says that I have a fashionable style and could she cut my hair for free. She works for an upscale salon downtown and the haircuts start at $70 and upwards. Uh hello?!? Yes! She explained that before she can work on the floor of the salon, she needs to show her boss that she can do all 8 of the most classic, popular, fashionable styles. She has been cutting hair for over 2 years. I went in today, got my haircut for free. A wash, cut and style. I didn’t know the bob hairstyle was so fashion forward. Yay for me. Hee hee.

Well I am off to do my weekly baking. I am cooking a leek and bean cassoulet for the co-op tomorrow. It is the recipe from V-con. Hope you have a wonderful day.

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Weekend update…..

  1. I just made the leek and bean cassoulet this weekend and it was awesome. My husband rated it a 10+. I added rosemary and kale as well as other assorted vegtables. I’m sure your version will be a huge hit with your co-op diners.

  2. How cool that ya’ll get to celebrate Hannakah and Christmas. I’ve considered celebrating Hannakah, even though I’m not Jewish. I’m not Christian, but I still celebrate Christmas, so why not? And I am pagan, so I also get to celebrate Solstice/Yule. Yea for lots of holidays!

  3. When I was a kid the mom of one of my Jewish classmates would always bring in latkes for Hannukah. I loved them so much! They were an exotic treat condsidering the rest of us were all Irish/Italian catholics.

    Your sweet Adam all of a sudden looks like a boy instead of a baby! So cute.

  4. I’m glad that you guys enjoyed the party and that your boys were so admired by everyone! 😀

    That gingerbread town is so pretty! I love over the top gingerbread houses and towns.

    We buy canned tomatoes! Ugh! 😦

    We had the mexican casserole for dinner and it was delicious and exactly what I was looking for! Thank you so much! 🙂

    How awesome that you got a free haircut at a fancy salon! Score!!

  5. It’s lovely to get compliments about your kids, isn’t it? And I love Arthur’s comment about the gingerbread village! 🙂
    I’m going, right now, to look up that recipe in V’con. It looks like something we’d like a lot!
    Thanks for the link about tinned tomatoes. We eat them A LOT and are always so pleased with ourselves because apparently cooked tomatoes are better for you than raw. And they’re organic. However, I think we’re going to have to start using bottled passata now. Like you, we don’t eat any of the other things on the list.

Leave a Reply

