Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Food this week….

 
 
 
 
 
 
This week has been another week of great food. The dinner co-op trial run is going great. It looks like we will be continuing it. Woo hoo! We are having a meeting this coming Monday to discuss details. Monday we were delivered a baked pasta dish. It was full of spinach, sauce and cheeze. Tasty. Adam, the bottomless pit baby scarfed it down. It was served with a baguette and a lovely salad. Arthur opted for the greens in the salad and the bread. Tuesday we were brought a Thai yellow curry. Thai is one of my favorites. The kind of cuisine I could eat everyday. It had onions, potatoes, green beans and tofu over basmati rice. I was very happy to see there was enough for leftovers the next day. Disappointed that said leftovers are now gone. Such goodness. Wednesday evening is my delivery day. I cooked a leek and bean cassoulet. The recipe comes from V-con. I tripled the recipe so there was more than enough. Actually enough to feed a small army. The other families will definitely have some leftovers. I added seitan to the recipe. Have you tried it yet? It is really tasty and is a perfect Winter dish. I love comfort food. It is a stew with biscuits cooked on top. Yum. As I was saying, I made a ton. I probably should have only doubled the recipe. I believe in the philosophy of “better to make to much than not enough.” And the recipe is budget-friendly. Thursday we were delivered a warm quinoa, corn and cranberry salad, with a carrot & squash soup and a side of bread. It was very good. The weather here has been chilly. Soup is so warming to your body after walking in from a cold day. And who doesn’t love bread. Well the Atkins diet folks. Boy are they missing out on some good carbohydrates. Question for you, if the Atkins diet is so great, then why did Mr. Atkins die? No disrespect to him, I am just curious and find it strange that a person who was attempting to promote health and diet passed away and he wasn’t that old. Being a former healthcare employee (I quit to stay home with the boys), I had many a professor condemn diets, especially the Atkins. After longterm dieting on the Atkins, people will start to have serious organ failure. No thanks. Okay, enough. Wow, I totally fell off the subject of the awesome food I ate this week. Ooops! 🙂

Lovely salad

Baked pasta dish

 

Yellow Thai Curry

 

Leek and Bean Cassoulet

 

Quinoa Salad

Butternut Squash & Carrot Soup

This post is short but tasty. TGIF!

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

 

 

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “Food this week….

  1. One word – YUM!

  2. This is such a great idea/program.. How did the idea come about? How did you find other families to do this with? I would love to start some sort of program like this!

  3. This looks like some excellent food. I love the soup.

  4. I love that cassoulet! I think I must make some this weekend…..it will be snowing again! Perfect cold weather food!

  5. That dinner co-op is such a great idea! And I’ve been meaning to make that cassoulet for ages. It looks so good. Love the biscuits on top! And I agree, the Atkins Diet was probably the worst diet fad ever. Thank god that’s over.

  6. Actually, Dr. Atkins did not die due to his diet. He slipped and fell on the ice and busted his head, which caused bleeding around his brain. On his death certificate it says the cause of death was “blunt impact injury of head with epidural hematoma”.

    http://lowcarbdiets.about.com/od/atkinsdiet/a/dratkinsdeath.htm

    I definitely do not advocate his diet tough. CARBS ARE GOOD. They are the main source of energy and glucose for out brains.

  7. How do you think the cranberries were cooked in the quinoa? I have a bag still leftover from Thanksgiving and that salad sounds so good! Do you have any idea what they dressed it with?

  8. Your dinner co-op sounds great! Lucky other members to have you in it, with your fantastic cooking!
    I like the look of the cassoulet, especially, so I’m going to look that up and give it a go. I think it’ll go down well…

    If I don’t speak to you again before The Day, Happy Christmas to you and your wonderful family, Krys! I’ve so enjoyed getting to know you! 🙂

  9. I don’t mind toddler droll! hah Merry Christmas to you all as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

