Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Don’t teese me….

I tried Teese for the first time last week. I know some of you may be thinking, “What? It took you this long.” Yes, it has been out for a while, but seeing that I am cheap or as my friends politely put say, frugal. I just didn’t want to pay an upwards of $5.50 for 10 ounces of cheeze. I usually buy FYH because it is $3.50 for 10 ounces. When I was grocery shopping I was way under budget and I saw the Teese at my co-op grocer so I thought “Why not? I’ll give it a try.” I purchased the mozzarella teese. I wanted to try it on our pizza. I made an Italian “sausage” pizza for Josh and I. A teese pizza for the boys. When I first grated the teese and tried it, I liked it a lot. It tasted very close to what I remember real mozzarella cheese tasted like. I spread it on our pizza, popped it in the oven and anxiously waited. When I took the pizza out of the oven, the teese was melted and looked delicious. The boys scarfed their’s down without question. They love pizza night, especially baby bear Adam, our little bottomless pit. I got a few slices for Josh and I, poured a glass of red wine, said grace and we started our meal. On first bite, Josh said it was “okay”. He couldn’t decide if he liked teese better or FYH. Then after several more, he said it was just okay. He was not blown away by it. He did agree that freshly grated it tasted like real cheese. Baked, not so much. I tried my pizza, I was trying to compare it to FYH. Taste, texture, melting quality, etc. FYH seems more runny, teese melted but stayed on the pizza which was nice. I liked it but like it better freshly grated. I felt it lost some of its flavor in the baking process. It was a bit bland, but then so is FYH. I think my final verdict on teese, is I like it. I would purchase it again, but would like to eventually try all the flavors and try the mozzarella in different recipes in order to give it a fair chance. For now my testing on teese is limited due to the cost. But when there is a grocery shopping day I find myself way under budget, I will purchase another flavor of teese and let you know how it tastes. Give teese a chance πŸ™‚

peas and love….

Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “Don’t teese me….

  1. jumbleberryjam on said:

    Hello, friend! Mmmmm, teese pizza. My favorite! Although I have a serious crush on Daiya cheddar, I have yet to try the mozz on pizza. Glad you had the chance to try it out, but happy that FYH still works for your family! :=) Everyone’s as adorable as always. So happy. And, Happy New Year!!!

  2. I still haven’t tried Teese yet either! They don’t sell it anywhere around here. I have had some pretty good luck with FYH, but I think I like it best when it’s just grated.

  3. I haven’t tried Teese yet, I am also frugal! πŸ˜‰

    It really does look good, but if it doesn’t kick Follow Your Heart’s butt, I will probably wait to try it whenever it goes on sale.

  4. I haven’t tried Teese. I have had FYH. My kids like it. The only place that we can buy it here is at the health food store and well, I won’t pay those prices.

    I guess we are all very frugal. πŸ™‚

  5. I like the taste of Teese better, but I also love FYH. Honestly, I’m happy with either one. But Teese makes a melty Nacho Teese sauce that is OMG amazing! So, so good on nachos. Its softer than the mozzarella and cannot be grated…but it’s perfect for melting on the stove.

  6. Teese, ha. funny name. Serious…uhhh pizza? πŸ™‚ Happy New Year love!

  7. My favorites: Daiya, FYH, and Teese. In that order.

  8. I am also cheap, so don’t often buy vegan cheese as I like to factor in the pain-in-the-ass aspect of going to a store that’s out of my way and that I don’t usually shop in to the cost of the product itself. But redwood’s mozarella-style cheezly is far and away the best vegan cheese I’ve ever tried. Your pizza might have been meh! but it looks yum!!! Happy New Year to you and your three boys!! πŸ˜‰

  9. Teese has been hit or miss for me too and I don’t buy it cause I just make nooch sauce if I am craving cheese. I saw you mentioned that you stayed under budget at the grocery store. I think you are such a good planner! I always go over budget but I can’t stick to a schedule of what I want to make. sigh. Wish I lived in your neighborhood so I could join the co-op.

Leave a Reply

