Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Monday we did not get a co-op dinner delivery. Our friend had family visiting for the holiday so she skipped this week. Which was fine because we had plenty of leftovers. Speaking of leftovers. I heard a lady tell us she doesn’t eat leftovers. I thought, that is crazy talk. I asked her what she did with the food and she said the tossed it. What?!? First of all, I love leftovers and it is a waste to throw away good food. Second, throw away leftover tofurky? We would have to fight. Hee hee. I love the leftovers we have been eating. I noticed today when I made a tofurky sandwich for lunch smothered in homemade gravy, there are only two more slices left. That made me sad. I am still thinking about incorporating a holiday feast in July just for an excuse to have tofurky three times a year. 🙂 I still have one in the freezer. I bought three this year!

Okay, sorry for getting on my “leftover soapbox”. Tuesday night we were delivered creole blackeyed peas with rice, collard greens and roasted sweet potatoes. Delicious. The recipe comes from fatfreevegan.com. Funny thing, the meal I cooked Wednesday night and delivered came from fatfreevegan.com too. I made the smoky refried bean soup and served it with sweet potato cornbread. The cornbread recipe comes from How It All Vegan. I never would have thought to incorporate sweet potatoes in cornbread. Genius! Thursday we were delivered Asian marinated tofu with kale and brown rice. It was sent over this morning since tonite is New Year’s Eve. The tofu recipe comes from VWAV. Our friend had asked what a good beginner vegan cookbook is and I suggested VWAV and let her borrow mine. She tried this recipe. I hope she enjoys the cookbook as much as I have.

Creole blackeyed peas w/rice, collard greens and sweet potatoes.

 

 

 

Smoky refried bean soup. Crappy picture, delicious soup. 

Sweet potato cornbread cooked in an iron skillet.

Last night I was going to make some molasses cookies for my grandmother. I checked the pantry. No molasses. What? That never happens. So, instead I made banana walnut bars. I added chocolate chips. The recipe comes from The Garden of Vegan. They are delicious. And simple to make.

What are your plans for New Year’s Eve? We are going to take the boys to a family festival and then have dinner at home with some champagne and grape juice for the little guys. Any resolutions? Mine are simple: save money (build up the savings account), clean out the spare room, grow a huge Spring, Summer and Fall garden, plan a road trip next Fall with Josh and the boys (this time we will head East), run another half marathon and continue to run at least one every year, make something handmade for everyone’s birthday next year (whether it is food or something I sew). I’m sure I have more resolutions, but those are it so far.

Well I am off to have breakfast with family. Happy New Year. I hope you have a safe and lovely night.

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “

  1. Ok I seriously want some of that corn bread… recipe please?! About the leftovers- the dumbest thing I’ve ever heard, to throw stuff away… people friggen suck.. I mean I’m with you- why would you toss good food- and really so much food tastes better in leftover form?? I just think americans have no idea about NOT being wasteful- it’s like they think everything just appears in the market and on the shelves… man I hate people sometimes!

  2. We spent Christmas with my brother-in-law and his fiancee and EVERYTHING got tossed if it wasn’t eaten there and then, including a massive dish of roasted parsnips which could have been turned into a really tasty soup so so easily! I ended up sneaking a bag of vegetable trimmings (what is it with not eating the stems of the lettuce?!) home for our rabbit. When I see the amount of vegetable trimmings that go into the bin in most peoples’ homes it makes me realise how much we save by having a rabbit and a compost bin!!! 😉 Those resolutions sound pretty good to me, I hope you all had a lovely New Years Eve.

  3. I would like to attend the July Holiday feast.

  4. I can’t believe people would throw away leftovers, but it’s all relative i guess. I sometimes throw stuff away if it tasted terrible.

Leave a Reply

