Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Run sucka run….

Well the weekend has gone and gone quickly. We had a three day weekend thanks to the New Year holiday. We took it easy and relaxed a bit. I did some running. I have a half marathon coming up in 20 days. I am looking forward to it. I did my first marahon and half marathon in 2008 when I was first pregnant with Adam and plan to do a half marathon every year. Even if I am old and have to walk it. Talk about inspiring, I love seeing the old people participating in the half marathons. They are so dedicated and healthy too. The weather here has been chilly by our standards. It has been in the high 20’s, low 30’s at night. And 40 degree Farenheit during the day. But I dare not complain since I have friends who run in the snow and 20 degree weather for their daytime high. Oy. It is fun to people watch while out on the trail. I saw a guy yesterday running in a kilt. Go Scotland! Granted he had tights on underneath his kilt due to the weather, but a kilt no less. Love it!

We made pizza last night for dinner instead of the usual Friday since Friday was New Year’s Day and that was for blackeyed peas. Josh and I had Italian “sausage” with cheeze and the boys had cheeze pizza. Oh how I love our weekly pizza night.

For dessert we had chocolate cupcakes with orange buttercream icing. The recipe is VCTOTW. They were delicious. Josh and I only eat dessert on the weekend and these were great. Of course the boys loved them. Arthur has a sweet toothe. Not a crazy sweet toothe like most kids. But he will eat a cupcake if offered. Adam on the other hand, not so much. I have seen him choose edamame over a cookie. Which I think is great.

Arthur enjoying his cupcake.

 

A while back I had tasted a raspberry muffin from our local co-op grocer. It was so good. Since we do not live very close to the co-op, it is a pain to go and buy just one muffin, plus the cost of paying for one would eventually get ridiculous. It is always less expensive to make your own. So here is the recipe I created. It is a hit with the Josh and the boys. Hope you like it too.

 Raspberry Lime Muffins (twoveganboys)

2c flour
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
zest of 1 lime
3/4c turbinado sugar
1c soy milk
1/3 c canola oil
2 tbs lime juice (juice of l lime)
1 tbs apple cider vinegar
1c raspberries (fresh or frozen)

Preheat oven to 400F. Grease muffin tin. In a small bowl, combine soymilk and vinegar. Let sit for a minute or two. In a large bowl combine flour, baking soda, salt and lime zest. Stir. Add sugar, soy milk/vinegar mix, oil, and lime juice. Stir until just blended. Gently fold in raspberries. Fill muffin cups 2/3 full. Bake 20 minutes or until toothepick inserted into muffins comes out clean. Remove from oven. Let sit for 10 minutes. Remove muffins from tin and cool on a wire rack. Yield: 12 muffins.

Well I am off to hit the trail. Hope you have a wonderful Monday.

peas and love….

Krys and the boys

 

My sweet baby bear napping while his Daddy watches football.

 

 

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Run sucka run….

  1. The muffins look amazing! Ii love the colors. Good luck on your marathon! Aurthur looks totally into that cupcake!

  2. Both the cupcakes and the muffins look so yummy! And look at the cute little guy munching away! I personally love pizza and everything that goes along with it.. you made me want to make tonight a pizza night! Adam looks adorable with Daddy!

  3. Those cupcakes look insanely good! Enjoy your run!

  4. Happy training! The muffins look amazing!! What a nice warm treat to come home to after a good run.

  5. yummm i remember that muffin recipe. i made it the first time you talked about it.

Leave a Reply

