Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Weekend update…..

It was cold here over the weekend.  Friday night it got down to 14 degrees Farenheit.  That is cold for us.  Super cold. It is usually 60 this time of year.  So, what do you do when it is to cold to go outdoors?  Cook.  Well, at least I do.  I cooked and baked.  For dinner Saturday, I made a big pot of cheezy jalapeno cailiflower soup.  It is a recipe created by Isa.  It is delicious.  The grocery store had organic cauliflower on sale.  When I saw the sale, I knew I had to make the soup.  I have made it before and I love it.  It is spicy and cheezy.  I found it strange that it received mixed reviews, because I found absolutely nothing wrong with it.  It is simple to make as well.  You should try it. 

Sunday morning, I woke up and made pumpkin pancakes.  The recipe is from Vegan Brunch.  I love pumpkin pancakes.  And we were given some maple syrup from Vermont for Christmas.  A lovely gift from my brother-in-law and his family.  So good on the pancakes.  The boys inhaled theirs.  After breakfast we went to a local coffee house where they have a childrens program.  They sing songs, dance and the kids play.  It was fun.  I liked seeing all the hippy parents with their kiddos.  The boys loved it. 

Yesterday I did my weekly baking.  I made some chocolate zucchini bread.  The recipe is from vegweb.  This bread is divine.  The store had organic zucchini squash on sale and I could not resist.  The recipe also makes two large loaves.  I am going to freeze one.  I also made banana walnut muffins.  I  used the banana bread recipe from theppk.  This is my go to banana bread recipe.  Simple and tasty. I made a dozen regular size muffins and a dozen baby muffins.   Or as Arthur calls them baby cupcakes.  He liked them so much.  He ate 5 at once.  Lastly I baked cranberry orange scones.  I was reaching for my VWAV cookbook because I always use the scone recipe in it and realized my friend still has the book. So, I went on vegblogsearch and found this recipe.  It was very good and uses maple syrup instead of sugar.  Now, some of you might be thinking, “Wow, this is a lot of food for breakfast.”  Well, I have two growing little boys and they love to eat.  The worst thing is to wake up in the morning and find nothing in the cupboard for breakfast.

Banana muffin

Cranberry scone

I almost forgot to mention. I made one of the tastiest dessets over the weekend too.  I made the peanut butter caramel apple bars from Veganomicon.  Wow!  Is all I can say.  I didn’t have graham crackers to make the graham cracker crust, so I used the lemon bar crust recipe and cut down on the powdered sugar.  These were superb.  And peanut butter caramel?  That is just the best invention ever.  It was a hit all around.  I am glad I made this dessert.  Yum!

Last night was pizza night. It is usually Friday, but we went to visit a friend, so we had leftovers that night. Now the picture of the pizza may not be that exciting, but let me tell you about the taste.  I made homemade marinara using the beefsteak tomatoes I grew in the garden this past Fall and some fresh herbs from our herb garden.  That is thankfully surviving the freeze.  Fresh marinara is so much better than store  bought.  There is a night and day difference in the taste.  And I love the color of the marinara.  It is a pinkish red.  Now on to the pizza.  I sauteed a whole bunch of garlic in olive oil.  Spread it all over the pizza crust and marinara.  I threw on some Italian “sausage” chunks. I used the “sausage” recipe from Julie Hasson.  This sausage recipe is the best.  I tossed some FYH cheeze on the pizza.  It was oh so good.  The sauteed garlic made it absolutely perfect.  Next time I plan to do sauteed garlic, spinach and sundried tomato on the pizza.

Now for a pretty plant picture.  Since it is freezing all the plants have been brought indoors as not to die.  Well with the exception of my airplane plant. There is a family of finches living in it and I did not want to take away their home.  So, I sacrificed the plant.  I love plants, but I love animals more.  Being Winter and all, most plants do not bloom. Especially hibiscus plants.  They love the sun and the heat of Summer.  You would think that mine would go into some kind of hibernation.  Well, I woke up to this lovely site yesterday morning when I came into the kitchen.

Lastly, here is some little boy cuteness.  Little bear Adam is walking even more.  He is getting confident on his little wobbly legs and trying to take even more steps.  Arthur is so cute.  He will hold his little brother’s hands and help him walk. I love it. 

Well I am off to do the task of cleaning this place.  I hope you have a terrific Monday.

peas and love….

Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Weekend update…..

  1. oh my your baked good look really good.. would you please share the banana muffine recipe.. is it somewhere on your blog?

  2. Pumpkin pancakes look great. I also think that despite what mixed reviews might have been expressed, your soups looks totally awesome!

  3. Busy as always, Krys! 🙂 That cheezy cauliflower-jalepeno soup looks delicious – I love the combination of cauliflower with anything cheezy! And pizza – oh, how I love pizza! You’re right about always having something to hand for the kids to eat – when my two are in ‘growing’ mode they could eat all day without it making a dent in their appetites so it’s important to have something healthy, yummy and filling available to them at all times. Hope you and the boys have a great week!

  4. Those apple bars look great! Dessert is the best. I have to admit that my husband and I tried being vegan and quit it after a week. It was really difficult for us because we’re so used to having meat at dinner. And the flavor and depth of meat and cheese is quite irreplacable. 🙂 Still, we’re trying to go for more fruits and veggies in general.

Leave a Reply

