Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

TGIF…

Good morning. It is Friday.  Yay!  What are your plans for the weekend?  It is raining here and is supposed to do the same tomorrow.  So, there will not be to much excitement around here.  Just some grocery shopping.  I need to get some boys ballet shoes for Arthur’s dance combo class, get a run in and do the never ending mountain of laundry.  Ugh.

Speaking of Arthur’s dance class.  It is great.  The class is all boys.  Which the teacher just loves.  He did so well in it.  And had a blast.  When Josh came home, he showed his daddy how you take a bow after a performance.  I am going to get his ballet shoes and tap shoes tomorrow.  He is excited. 

Now, on with the food. Wednesday night we had a sub for the co-op. One of the ladies is on holiday for the week.  The sub brought over a delicious coconut lentil curry served with brown rice that had carmelized onions in it and a side salad. It was oh so good.  I “heart” lentils.  Yum.  She also send over some tea.  My favorite.

Last night for my co-op meal, I served Cholent.  It is a Jewish stew.  The recipe comes from V-con.  It is full of potatoes, carrots, onion, peas, kidney beans, french lentils and TVP chunks.  Such goodness.  It was a perfect meal for a cold and rainy day like last night.  I served it with bread.  The bread recipe comes from vegweb.  It is a simple recipe that makes two huge loaves of bread.  Seriously big.  Geez.  Arthur made us laugh last night.  We put a bowl of Cholent on his placemat.  He looked at it and said “that’s not my favorite.”  Silly boy.  He opted for carrots, bread, and fruit.  Little bear Adam had a small serving of the Cholent.  He is our little bottomless pit.  With my co-op meal, I also included a mini loaf of chocolate zucchini bread.  I estimated the cost of the meal for all 4 families was around $25.  Still cheaper than dining out and cheaper than going to a bakery.  Plus I had tons of lefovers.  Which, I forgot to mention.  I tripled the Cholent recipe for fear I would not have enough for the co-op.  Holy crap!  The recipe tripled was over the top.  It made enough to feed an army. There was meals for all the co-op families, plus three extra containers worth to freeze.  And the containers hold 4 cups each.  Wow!  Thank goodness we have a deep freeze.

The bread looks small in the picture, but it was seriously huge.  It took up a whole large cookie sheet.

Cholent

I am off to give my two little guys some breakfast.  Hope you have a lovely day and a great weekend.

peas and love….

Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “TGIF…

  1. I’m glad Arthur’s enjoying his dancing class! And that food looks so good! (Despite Arthur’s distaste for the cholent!) Are those extra teeth I see in Adam’s cute wee mouth?

  2. Cholent is my favorite, really, that recipe rocks! I made the sweet potato red bean chili from Vegan Planet today. We used sweet potatoes from a garden in Louisiana. It was a hit! Let us get coffee soon.

    xo

Leave a Reply

