Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Soup’s on…..

I created a recipe over the weekend.  That is the only downfall to the dinner co-op.  I haven’t created any new recipes in a while.  I am happy to say, this one was a winner.  A friend was making a poblano chicken chowder and I thought, “Poblano would be good.  Roasted poblano would be better!”  And believe me, it was.  It was delicious.  Spicy and creamy, a perfect soup for the cold weather we have been having here lately.  So, here you have it.  I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

Roasted Poblano Chowder

 

olive oil

1 onion, diced

3 cloves garlic, minced

3 poblanos, roasted and chopped

2 celery stalks, chopped

1 1/2 c carrots, sliced

1 jalapeno, chopped (optional, if you like it spicy)

1c pototoes, diced

1c corn

1t black pepper

2t salt

3t cumin

3c seitan, sauteed in oil until crispy, cut into bite-size pieces

1 bunch cilantro, chopped-use leaves only

8c veg broth

1-12oz container “sour” cream

1c flour

1/2c margarine

In a stock pot, saute onion and garlic in olive oil until soft. Add celery, carrots, jalapeno, potatoes, and corn. Saute another 5 minutes. Add poblanos and spices, stir. Add broth, “sour” cream, cilantro and seitan. Bring to a boil, once it starts to boil, turn down to a simmer. Let simmer 10 minutes or until potatoes are tender. While the chowder is simmering, in a skillet, melt the margarine. Whisk in the flour, do not brown the flour/margarine mix. Remove 1 cup of broth from the chowder, whisk into margarine/flour mix. Once the cup of broth is incorporated, add another cup, whisk again until well blended. Pour into the stockpot. Simmer chowder for another 5-10 minutes until it has thickened. Serve with a crusty bread. **To roast poblanos, insert a fork in the poblano and hold it over the gas burner until the flesh of the pablano turns black. Enjoy.

Lucky for me, I was able to create another recipe over the weekend.  It is simple but tasty.  I wanted a frito pie.  They are so good.  If you have not tried one, you are missing out on a delicious Southern dish.  It is corn chips with chili and cheese on top.  Well in my case, vegan cheeze sauce or shredded vegan cheese.  I opted for a cheeze sauce.  It was so good and hit the spot.  The chili came together quickly and can be made spicy or mild.

Simple yet Satisfying Chili

1c dried pinto beans, cooked and drained

1 small onion, chopped

1 large carrot, grated

2 cloves garlic, minced

1c corn

1-24oz jar tomato puree

1c tvp chunks

1 1/2c water or veggie broth

2T chili powder

1t salt

1t garlic salt

1/2t black pepper

2t red pepper flakes

In a pot, saute the onion and garlic in oil.  Add all the other ingredients.  Bring to a boil.  Once boiling, reduce to a simmer.  Cover and simmer 15-20 minutes or until TVP chunks are tender.  Stir often.  Enjoy!

Frito pie covered in cheeze sauce and topped with chopped onion.  All that was missing is the pickled jalapeno slices.

I also made coconut chocolate chip cookies over the weekend.  Arthur wanted a picture of Batman holding the cookie.  How could I say “no”?

Friday night was our usual pizza night.  I forgot to take a picture.  I made a cheeze pizza for the boys and a sundried tomato artichoke heart pizza for me and Josh.

Thursday for our co-op meal, we were delivered a chickpea spinach curry.  It was served with a side of brown rice and baked pears for dessert.  The curry was so good.  Adam liked it as well.   And the pears were divine.  You can’t beat baked pears.  They are delicious.

Are any of you watching the Super Bowl?  I’m sure a few of you are.  Do you have a menu planned for it?  Josh put in a request.  Here is our Super Bowl Menu:   tempeh wingz, fresh veggies with a homemade vegan ranch dip, nachos, sweet potato fries and some type of unhealthy vegan dessert. 

Well, I am off to do my weekly breakfast baking.  This week I am baking mocha chip muffins, mueseli and carrot pineapple muffins for the boys.   

My two cutie pies.

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “Soup’s on…..

  1. Delicious looking food, as always, but WHAT is poblano? It’s not even in my trusty dictionary!
    I hope Batman enjoyed the cookie. Imagine if we could have one as proportionately big! Yum!
    Arthur suits his hat and I just LOVE Adam’s crinkly wee chin!

  2. Thanks for your comment on my site! I posted a more thorough recipe in the comments, since I was too lazy to write it all out yesterday 🙂

    So much good food here! The poblano chowder looks delicious, great for this time of year. And I love the pic of Batman and the cookie! I have a Batman figure in my kitchen too, on top of a window keeping an eye on everything – though I’ve never thought to give him a cookie!

  3. Krys the food looks amazing as always!! That chowder- oh my 🙂 I got into a food rut for a while not having a whole lot of time on my hands with teaching- and sometimes your really in the mood to create- or just just throw a bunch of random stuff together (which is what I usually do and call it a recipe!) Adams face is priceless!! These boys are certainly going to be breaking some hearts ❤

  4. making that chowda’ sooooon.

  5. That Poblano chowder sounds amazing! Everything looks quite good really: the chili, COOKIE, batman (is that a lego batman? wild), and the kids 😉

  6. what beautiful boys you have 🙂 and gorgeous looking food – I also do not know what a poblano is, but the soup looks creamy and wonderful!

  7. This all looks soo good and I will fight batman for those cookies!

  8. Food looks amazing! I love the little Batman tackling the cookie-awesome! Your boys are too cute. 😀

  9. That soup sounds so delicious! And how did Arthur know that Batman likes coconut choc-chip cookies? Clever boy! Btw, I’m coming over to your Superbowl supper – set an extra place!

  10. You just can’t say no to Batman holding a coconut chocolate chip cookie! It only makes me want to be Robin so we could share it! 😛

    I love the ingredients that you used for your yummy soup!

  11. I bought my ingredients to make the chowder and made my seitan. Sunday dinner will be great!

Leave a Reply

