Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Archive for the day “February 7, 2010”

Weekend update…..

Well, how was your weekend?  Our’s was great.  Let’s get started with the food.  Thursday night’s co-op meal was stuffed zucchini, mashed potatoes with chickpea gravy, a side salad and pears for dessert.  I loved the gravy.  That was my favorite part of the meal, but then again, how can you not like gravy?!

 

Friday was pizza night.  The best night of the week.  I made the boys their usual cheeze pizza.  I made  a roasted eggplant and garlic pizza for me and Josh, sprinkled with fresh oregano.  This was by far my favorite pizza I have made to date.  It was so good.  Roasted eggplant is perfect when it is marinated in olive oil and balsalmic vinegar.  Wow!  And everyone loves garlic.  Well, maybe not vampires.

Saturday we spent the day at the Nature Center, went for a hike and then had a lovely picnic by a stream.  It was such a gorgeous day that we had to get outdoors.  The boys had so much fun.  When we got home, I cooked up some comfort food for our dinner.  I made “meat”loaf, mashed potatoes and roasted broccoli.  Adam loved the broccoli. A rthur is still not friends with broccoli, so he opted for bread and “meat”loaf.

The boys enjoying the outdoors.

For our Sunday morning dance party breakfast I made tofu scramble with roasted potatoes.  This was so good and made a large meal.

Not another Tofu Scramble Recipe

1lb soft tofu, drained

1/4c onion, chopped

1 clove garlic, minced

2T nooch

2T tamari

1/2t black pepper

1/4t turmeric

1 serrano pepper, chopped

1 medium carrot, grated

4-5 white mushrooms, chopped

spinach, handful shredded

oil

In a mixing bowl, mash the tofu with spices using a potato masher.  In a skillet, saute the onion, serrano and garlic in the oil.  Transfer to the mixing bowl.  Add the veggies to mixing bowl, mashing all ingredients together.  Once everything is incorporated, pour back into the skillet. add more oil if you need to.  Saute tofu scramble for 7-10 minutes over medium heat until veggies are tender and it the tofu is cooked all the way through.  Enjoy!

Well I am off to cook some Super Bowl food.  Yum! 

Here is a picture of Arthur tap dancing.  It was taken in his dance class last week. I love it!

peas and love….

Krys and the boys

Post Navigation