Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Weekend update…..

It was beautiful outside this weekend.  Unfortunately we did not get to enjoy it. Poor Boogie aka Arthur is sick.  He had a fever all weekend and now is on the barf train.  He is on anti-nausea medicine.  Hopefully little brother won’t catch this stomach bug. 

They had a blast at Sesame Street Live.  I was a bit disappointed because there was no meet and greet.   But the boys still loved it.  They both clapped their hands and shouted when Elmo came onto the stage.

Food glorious food. Since we went to the show Friday night, I opted to make a quick meal. I made a pineapple fried quinoa.  One of the co-op friend’s had made it in the past and it is delicious.  You just sub tofu in place of eggs and veggie broth instead of chicken.  I also made some kale chips to accompany the quinoa.  Such goodness.

Saturday was a lazy day due to our sick Boogie, so I made nachos for us. Simple yet tasty and no shredded cheeze was needed.  A nooch cheeze sauce with some guacamole, beans, salsa and faux sour cream made it complete.

Sunday I made pizza.  Cheeze pizza for Adam and a roasted poblano pizza with garlic and fresh thyme for me and Josh.  Yum. 

I also made biscuits with gravy and apple sage sausages for our Sunday morning breakfast.  The picture isn’t the best, but the breakfast was.  Here in the South we love gravy. Just ask Bianca of Vegan Crunk.  I’d bet she would agree with me.  And one of the best types of Southern breakfast is biscuits and gravy.

Over the weekend I created three new recipes.  Two are still in the works, which brings me to the question.  Anyone want to be a “two vegan boys” recipe tester?  If so, make a comment and I will put you on the super secret sassy sauce recipe tester mailing list.  🙂  I created a Avocado Salad Sandwich recipe this weekend.  You’ve heard of chicken salad sandwich, tuna salad and even egg salad.  Well, now we have avocado salad sandwiches.  Josh loved it and I thought it was quite tasty too.  The picture is crap.  Ugh.

Avocado Salad Sandwich

2 ripe avocadoes
1/2 package of 14oz firm tofu
1/4c vegan mayo
1/4t paprika
1t garlic powder
1/2t dried parsley
1/2t brown mustard
juice of 1/2 a lemon
salt & pepper to taste

In a mixing bowl, mash avocado and tofu together. Leaving some chunks. Stir in mayo and spices. Salt and pepper to taste. Serve on bread or toast with lettuce and tomato. Delicious.

Like the rest of the world, the two vegan boys have a cooking page on Facebook.  Join us there. 

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cooking-with-Two-Vegan-Boys/331648581476?ref=nf

Hope everyone has a lovely week.

peas and love….

Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Weekend update…..

  1. Oh, poor wee Arthur! 😦 I hope he’s feeling better by now?
    I think biscuits and gravy is a meal we might like here too! Instructions, please!
    And that avocado sandwich filling looks GOOD! Now all I need to do is find some ripe avocadoes round here… They’re usually either solid or black… UGH!

  2. Wow! Look at you! You have an ill child and a full weekend but still find the time to cook? Impressive. I wish I had your motivation! 🙂

  3. Get me on that list, lady! I’ve never had a duff recipe from you yet! Hope little Boogie feels better soon – I always feel so terrible for my two when they’re being sick! Those nachos look delicious – we love us some nachos for easy comfort food over here! The red beans and rice you made the other day looked so good that I made a big crockpot full of beans on Sunday! We had some for dinner tonight with biscuits and veggie rice – delicious!

  4. Yes indeed. Gravy is the best thing on earth, especially when smothered over some flaky biscuits and vegan sausage. Or over country fried tofu. Or, well, anything…

    BTW, the pizza looks delicious!! As always. Hope Arthur feels better soon!!

  5. The pizza and nachos look wonderful, and biscuits and gravy with vegan sausages sounds like the perfect breakfast. Hope Boogie is feeling better! I just spent the day with my little nephew, who has a cold too…no fun when the those guys aren’t feeling well.

  6. Oh man, I have a weakness for avocados! As always, everything looks great.
    Are you still looking for testers? Because I would be very interested 😉

  7. Ohh is it to late to say I’d love to be a recipe tester!? Please add me to that list 😀

  8. Sup, Kudos for the posting! I am going to quote a few points in your content in my investigation on this theme . However can you pls aid me to get some info about you? Thanks again

Leave a Reply

