Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Yay for Friday!!!!

TGIF!  These past few days, I have been a walking zombie.  Little bear Adam has some serious allergies and it is making him feel like crap.  So, our nights have been pretty restless. 

On a good note, we do have some fun planned for today and the weekend.  I mentioned in a previous post that we have a zoo here. It is actually a sanctuary for wild animals that have been abused, raised by humans and can’t return to the wild, injured, etc.  My friend invited us to go to the zoo this afternoon because the lions had babies and they are having a viewing and doing a Q& A.  As well as educate the public.  The lions are a rare species, so the fact that they had babies is great because they were on the brink of extinction.  Arthur is super excited.

Tomorrow we are going to a natural organic garden center and the farmers market.  I am excited about the garden center.  We are beginning to prep our backyard for our Spring and Summer garden.  Nothing beats fresh veggies.  Yippee!

Sunday there is a kite festival here.  Beautiful, unique kites are exhibited and flown.  You can bring your own kite as well.  It is an all day affair.  We will pack a picnic.  It should be a blast.

Now for the food.  Tuesday’s co-op meal was jambalaya from V-con.  So tasty.  It was served with roasted sweet potatoes and broccoli.  Wednesday we were served vegetable and sunflower tofu tamales, Mexican rice, black beans and roasted garlic kale.  Delicious.  My co-op meal sucked to say the least.  I was sent a recommendation for  a soup recipe from a dear friend.  She loved it.  Mine was awful.  I was embarrassed that I sent it to the co-op.  I will definitely have to redeem myself next week.   This one goes down in the history books as the worst co-op meal ever.   The only redeeming quality in the whole meal was the homemade foccacia and mint chocolate chip cookies I made.   Other than that.  Terrible.  And I am not exaggerating.  

Jambalaya

Tamales

Fresh foccacia straight out of the oven.

Mint chocolate chip cookies

Having a vegan family with two little guys is easy.  I often get asked what I feed my boys.   They get a very diverse diet.  Little bear Adam will eat anything.  Arthur on the other hand, not so much.   He wants bread with every meal or some kind of carb dish.  When it comes to feeding him, I have become a bit sneaky.  I will give him rice with mixed veggies, mac and cheeze with chickpeas, fried eggrolls full of veggies, mini hand veggie pies.  He loves fruit.  So lately I have been sneaky with his smoothie.  I add green veggies.  If he knew he would throw out his favorite dinnertime line, “That’s not my favorite.”  But he is none the wiser to his sneaky mum and the smoothies she creates.  Yesterday he had a smoothie with fresh spinach, a banana, blueberries, a tablespoon of ground flaxseed, soy yogurt and apple juice.   He loved it, drinking two glasses worth.  This morning I made him a smoothie with spinach, a little broccoli, banana, ground flax, soy yogurt, blueberries and apple juice.  Once again, he was in heaven.   Sneaky yes.  But a mum has to sometimes be this way when it comes to a picky child.

Well I am off to make some bread for my carb-loving son.  Hope you each have a wonderful weekend.

peas and love….

Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Yay for Friday!!!!

  1. soup was not a disaster! I can understand your over-criticism of yourself (I do it too) – and a Tuscan bean soup is so – well, Tuscany beany. I have pretty exacting expectations of what that should taste like and I imagine you are doing the same. I am an Italian and Mediterranean food fiend and this was a perfectly adequate soup even if it wasn’t up to your expectations. But yes, I would agree – too many noodles. 🙂

    It had so many noodles, though, that I was able to dish out a bowlful for Erin; she ate a little instead of a lot but it went over better telling her it was “pasta” instead of “soup”.

    And yes, bread and cookies? So awesome. Rory even ate some bits of foccacia and had a very pleased look on her face. I had to stop myself from finishing off the whole loaf!

  2. It’s difficult to imagine you making something that isn’t wonderful, but I expect you have very high standards! The photos look great, as always. But my favourite bit? Look at the positon of Adam’s wee legs! How adorable is that???

  3. Sounds like a fun weekend! Enjoy.

    It seems so odd that you are getting ready to plant – we still have a foot of snow cover!

  4. Too bad about that soup! Everything else looks perfect though!

    I hope you are having a perfect Sunday full of kite flying and yummy picnic foods. You are already making me jealous of your spring and summer garden! 🙂

Leave a Reply

