Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Weekend update…..

How was your weekend?  Ours was nice.  We went to the zoo on Friday which for those of you who do not know, it is actually an animal sanctuary for wild and domestic animals.  We went with our friend and her two sweet little girls.  We were excited because the lioness had cubs.  The zoo does not have the animals there to breed, apparently the lioness was already pregnant when she arrived.  The pair, a male and female came from a person who had them as pets.  The zoo was having a viewing of the cubs and a q&a.  Oh my, they were so freakin’ cute.  They were playing and looked so sweet and cuddly.  The good thing about the birth of these cubs is the fact that their particular species is thought to be extinct in the wild and there are only a few alive in captivity.  This is a chance for the species to come back strong.   The boys love the zoo, especially the petting zoo.  There was a very friendly goat who kept coming over to us to be petted.  He would come and lean on me.  Adam enjoyed walking around in the pen and Arthur would pet the goat and ask questions. 

lion cubs

The super friendly goat.  Arthur just loved him.

Friday night is our usual pizza night, but after 4 days of sleep deprivation, I opted for a simple meal.  I made tofu pigs in a blanket with tater tots.   Homemade biscuits are so easy to make.  I love pigs in a blanket.  And yes, that is a mustard smile in the ketchup.

Saturday we went to the local garden center.   We picked up some veggies and herbs to plant.  We got all organic seedling veggies and herbs as well as organic soil and mulch.  We started and completed one of the gardens.  I thought it was going to be small, but it measures 6feet by 12feet.  It has swiss chard, mustard greens, kale, cilantro, artichokes, beets, broccoli, garlic, garlic chives, dill and three types of lettuce.  We are starting our second garden on Wednesday after the rain.   It will be for the tomatoes and basil.  We are planting three different types of tomatoes:   roma, beefsteak and yellow tomatoes.  We decided to give the tomatoes their own space due to the fact that last Fall they took over the garden.  I also planted skyscraper sunflowers along the back of the garden.  I can’t wait to taste the bounty our garden produces.

Since we didn’t have pizza Friday night, I made pizza Saturday.  I wanted eggplant, so I roasted some eggplant in balsamic vinegar and olive oil.  I made a cheeze pizza for the two little guys and a roasted eggplant and garlic pizza for me and Josh.  Such goodness.  I love eggplant. 

Sunday I created a new cookie recipe.  Wow!  They were freakin’ awesome.  I have decided to name the Coconut Almond Dream Cookies.  So good.  Josh said they were his favorite by far.

Sunday morning I also made pancakes.  I made the blueberry oat pancake recipe I created a week ago.  Delicious and nutritious.   The boys devoured them.

Blueberry Oat Pancakes

1 3/4c flour

1/4c oats

2T flax seeds, ground

3T sugar

1T baking powder

1/4t salt

2c +2T soy milk

1c blueberries

oil

Combine all ingredients except the oil. Do not overmix. Warm up a griddle, put a little oil on griddle. Once griddle is hot (using medium heat). Pour 1/3 cup full of pancake batter on griddle. Cook till pancakes are golden on both sides. Yield: 8-10 pancakes

Well I am off to do my weekly breakfast baking.  I am making mocha chip muffins, coconut bread and blueberry coffee cake. 

Hope you have a lovely evening.

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Weekend update…..

  1. Growing up, we always had volunteer sunflowers in the vegetable garden, and my dad always let one or two stay.

    Your garden sounds great!

  2. Just wanted to thank you for visiting my blog and leaving comments. Now my husband always asks, “you gonna posts, right? Those TWO VEGAN BOYS are waiting to see your next toy.” Funny thing is, all the toys belong to him.

  3. An animal sanctuary is always a good alternative. Near the town I come from, there is a sanctuary for rescued animals (from zoos, circus…) and the children of that town take care of the animals. A good initiation, isn’t it?

  4. Hi, Chris,

    Have you ever made apple butter before? Seems to me I saw something once where you could make it from applesauce. My local stuff ran out and I can’t find any at the store without HFCS!

    Thanks,
    Susan

  5. What fun! We’ve been thinking we might like to have a goat friend someday and probably a pig, too. Someday when we move outside of town perhaps.

Leave a Reply

