Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Granola!!!!!!

Earlier this week I made granola.  We love granola around here.  I just really do not like buying it at the store.  It costs $7 a pound and more.  It is so much easier to make your own and tastier.   Plus there are no preservatives in it.  Just goodness.  I made cranberry orange granola.  It is so good over vanilla soygurt.  Arthur likes his over soy milk.  And it makes a ton, 8 cups worth. 

Cranberry Orange Granola

4c oats

1 1/3c slivered almonds

1/3c ground flax seeds

1/3c coconut

1/2c pecans, chopped

1/2c maple syrup

4tbs orange juice

1tbs orange zest

1/4c vegetable oil

1tsp almond extract

1/4tsp allspice

1 1/4c dried cranberries

Preheat oven to 325F. Combine oats, almonds, flax seeds and pecans in a large bowl. In a smaller bowl mix together syrup, orange juice, zest, oil, extract and allspice. Stir well. Pour into large bowl and stir gently until it is all coated. Pour mix into two large glass casserole pans. Bake for 23 minutes. Stirring every 10 minutes to prevent from burning. Once they are done baking, remove from oven and let cool completely. Once they are cooled, pour the mix in a very dry large mixing bowl. Stir in the cranberries. Pour the mix into an airtight container. Store in the refrigerator. This mix will last in the fridge for 7 days. If left in the pantry it is only good for about 3 days. Enjoy.

Tuesday we were delivered an Italian soup and a salad for our co-op dinner.  The soup is called Ribollita.  Which means reboiled.  It was so hearty and filling.  So good that we inhaled it before taking a picture.  Earlier that day I had made a calzones.  Roasted eggplant and a spinach tofu ricotta.  The calzones were great.  I think next time I will add a little cheeze in the spinach one. 

Fresh from the oven.

Roasted eggplant

Last night for our co-op dinner we were served tangerine baked tofu, steamed kale and a black bean mango quinoa salad.  It was great.  The boys loved the tofu.

Tonite I am serving a Indian tofu curry dish to the co-op with brown rice and chickpea curry patties.  The curry dish got some really good reviews from my testers, so we shall see what the co-op thinks.  It smelled so good simmering last night.  The chickpea patties were enjoyed by the boys.  I think they had more of a falafel feel to them. 

Tomorrow I will be posting pictures of my kitchen.  My dear friend Penny has requested pictures of where I do all my cooking.  We call it the humble kitchen.  It is small, but produces tasty food.  Our dining room is small too, but is comfortable and we enjoy each others company in it.  Will you post pictures of your kitchen? I would love to see it.

Well I am off to deliver my co-op meal. I hope you each have a wonderful day.

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Granola!!!!!!

  1. Those calzones look amazing! I love calzones. I’m placing my last order of Daiya cheese for the season (you can’t order it in the South after it reaches 80 degrees … it won’t keep in the shipping). When it arrives, I’m gonna have to make some calzones!

  2. Mmm…I agree, the calzones look incredible.

Leave a Reply

