Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Weekend update…..

We’re back.  We had a great time at the beach.  The weather was beautiful.  A bit windy, but nice.  It was the boys first time to camp.  Arthur was taken aback by the wind blowing our tent.  He was a little frightened, but once we explained what was happening he was okay.  We enjoyed cooking over a fire.  Eating tofu dogs and s’mores.  And walking on the beach. 

Sunrise on the beach.

My two little guys enjoying the water.

My three guys.

Arthur enjoying a s’more.

Hot dogs with saurkraut.  So good grilled.

Thursday evening while packing and prepping for our beach trip, I made an Indian tofu curry.  I also served it to our dinner co-op.  The curry was served over brown rice with sauteed greens on the side.  The dish was quite tasty.  We like it a lot.  I originally made it with seitan, but I think it is better with tofu.  One of my testers subbed chickpeas for the seitan.  That sounds delicious too.

Speaking of greens.  When we came home from the beach, we checked the garden.  Our greens are going crazy.  I harvested two bunches of collard greens and three bunches of swiss chard.  I found a methond online on how to freeze the greens to use at a later date.  Have I mentioned how much I love our little organic garden?  The broccoli is looking great and the tomatoes are blooming.  I think we will have a ton of tomatoes this Summer. I planted seeds in small containers and they have sprouted, so I will have to find a space for butternut squash, spaghetti squash and small pumpkins.  Yay!

Collards greens

Swiss chard

Well I am off to do my weekly baking and tend to the garden.  Hope you have a wonderful day.

peas and love….

Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Weekend update…..

  1. Looks like a great trip! I really need a vacation too! I miss the beach. 🙂

  2. I’m so glad you had such a great time! We’ve had lovely weather here for the last couple of days, but of course we can’t compare with Texas!

    Can you tell me what, in Scotland, compares with collard greens? I see them mentioned so often from the USA and wonder if they’re like cabbage or kale or what…

  3. lazysmurf on said:

    looks like you had a beautiful trip!

  4. What a lovely sunrise! I love how you do all kinds of things with your kids, they look so happy!

    Hey, Arthur! Can you spare a s’more, buddy? 🙂

Leave a Reply

