Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Weekend update

How was your weekend?  Ours was pleasant.  Josh did not have to work Saturday, so that is always nice.  I will start with the food.  Thursday night I cooked a Southern style mustard greens and blackeyed peas dish for our co-op.  It was quite tasty.  It was a new recipe I created and it was served with some sweet cornbread.  Two great things about this meal, the mustard greens were from our garden and the cost of the meal to feed 10 people was $12.  Terrific.

Friday night was pizza night.  The boys had their usual cheeze pizza.  I made a sauteed mushroom and garlic pizza with a vegan Italian sausage for me and Josh.  I used a vegan rice cheeze.  It was okay.  I don’t think I will use it again.  It hardly melted and we were not blown away by the taste.  Other than the cheeze being just “okay”, the pizza was great.

Saturday we went to a local natural and organic garden center called the Natural Gardener.  It is so awesome.  It has lovely plants and beautiful gardens.  We had a picnic in the teepee and the boys played in the field while enjoying the goats, chickens and donkeys. 

Adam was quite fond of the Buddha statue.

Me and my sweet boys on the swing.

The teepee where we had our picnic.

Speaking of gardens, our gardens are coming along quite nice.  Some of the greens are starting to bolt (flower and go to seed).  So we will start planting our Summer veggies.  The tomato plants are going crazy.  They are getting big and starting to flower.  That means very soon we will have fresh tomatoes.  Yippee!  The basil is also growing well.  I love pesto and am so glad to have access to organic fresh basil.  The basil in the store is so expensive it is ridiculous.  And the sunflower seeds the boys and I planted are getting bigger by the day.  I can’t wait until they bloom.  We planted skyscraper sunflowers as well as mammoth sunflowers.  Which means super big sunflowers will be smiling over our garden.

Recently I was sent a new cookbook to review.  I will reveal the name of the book in a week or two after I try some more recipes.  Last night I made a sandwich recipe from the book.  Most of you are thinking, “A sandwich?  Big deal.”  Well this sandwich was a big deal.  It was one of the best sandwiches I have ever tasted.  It was perfect.  It was an open-faced grilled eggplant and seitan sandwich.  Wow!  Words cannot express how awesome this sandwich tasted.

Well, I am off to do the ugly chore called laundry.  Ugh.  Hope you each have a lovely evening.

peas and love…

Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Weekend update

  1. Thanks for stopping by my blog – I’m so happy to have discovered yours now! Your life seems idyllic, I’m dying to know more about this amazing dinner co-op you are part of. Is there a post on your blog where you introduce it and describe it in more detail?

    You kids are gorgeous, and so is your food! Looking forward to more meal inspiration flowing both ways. I’ll be adding you to my blogroll!

  2. That sandwich looks heavenly and your boys are adorable! Try my No-oil Cheeze Sauce on your pizza next time. It doesn’t have the cheese texture, but it tastes amazing none-the-less 🙂

  3. Pingback: Claiming Lost Money | karakasli.net

  4. whoah this weblog is wonderful i like studying your posts.
    Stay up the good work! You recognize, a lot of persons are searching around for this information, you could aid
    them greatly.

Leave a Reply

