Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Food this week….

Monday our co-op meal was white beans with greens and brown rice.  We were also brought some homemade raisin bran muffins.  The boys scrarfed those down in no time.  The meal was tasty.  One thing I forgot to mention about this dinner co-op is the fact that all the ladies that cook, have gardens, so we get fresh veggies from the gardens added to our meals.  How awesome is that? 

Tuesday we were delivered seitan fajitas.  Yum!  We love fajitas around here.  They were served with refried beans and guacamole.

Last night we were served a meal similar to Monday night’s dinner.  It was tasty too.  It was a mix of brown and white beans sauteed with greens from the garden, brown rice and roasted carrots and potatoes.  Little bear Adam loved the whole meal.  Arthur opted for the potato/carrot mix and the rice.

I am posting a picture of a smoothie.  I know some of you may be thinking, “what’s so special about a smoothie?”  Well in Arthur’s case, it is a big deal.  Out of our two little guys he is our pickier of the two.  Adam is the bottomless pit.  He will eat and try anything.  Arthur, not so much.  His favorite line when he sees something new is “That’s not my favorite.”  So, during the week, I will make him a smoothie every other day to make sure he gets his daily serving of vegetables.  Yesterday I made him a smoothie with a serving of swiss chard, a serving of sweet peas, a serving of carrots, a handful of strawberries thrown in, a banana, a splash of orange juice and some soygurt.  He loved it.  So much that he drank the whole blender’s worth.  He called it a “Incredible Hulk” smoothie because it was green.  Yay for getting kids to eat their veggies even if you do have to be sneaky.

Last night I  made cupcakes for Josh to take to work.  When I was sitting at the table decorating them, Adam was in his high chair.  His eyes got big and he kept saying “cupcake” in his baby voice. It was so cute.  It is really funny, because Adam has only a few words in his vocabulary.  But a majority of the words are food related.  You can tell he really likes to eat. 

Well I am off to do some baking this morning.  Hope you each have a lovely Thursday.

My two cutie pies playing in the tub together.

peas and love…..

Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

12 thoughts on “Food this week….

  1. Ha! I love that “cupcake” is one of Adam’s first words! Adorable. He knows where his priorities are. The beans and greens look delicious. That’s one of my favorite simple Southern meals.

  2. Those beans and greens look good, as do the fajitas. You get (and, I’m sure, give) such great meals on that co-op!
    As you know, I’m a great fan of smoothies. I’m glad Arthur enjoyed his!
    I’m so impressed by the fowers on top of the cupcakes! How did you do them?

  3. Or, in fact, flowers…

  4. I love the friendship co-op cooking idea, very good for hard working Moms at home & for those that work out of the home. You gave me another flashback when I saw your boys bathing, my boys loved to play in the tub. Actually they loved scuba diving in the bubbbles with their scuba gear. Every time I check your blog you always take me back in time…these memories are wonderful…thank you so much!

    http://nuestracena-vegancuisine.blogspot.com

  5. I love the friendship co-op cooking idea, very good for hard working Moms at home & for those that work out of the home. You gave me another flashback when I saw your boys bathing, my boys loved to play in the tub. Actually they loved scuba diving in the bubbbles with their scuba gear. Every time I check your blog you always take me back in time…these memories are wonderful…thank you so much!

    http://nuestracena-vegancuisine.blogspot.com
    BTW I love your blog!

  6. The fajitas look great and I am so very jealous of the cupcakes! Adam sounds like a fun kid!

  7. marylamb on said:

    ummm when are we going to hang out? I am off this weekend.
    xo

  8. hummm…beautiful food!

  9. ooo, seitan fajitas! definitely need to make some of those!

  10. Seitan fajitas! We’ve been planning to make some all week, now I have to get to it 😉

  11. Pingback: Free Music for iPod

  12. vaporizer pipe Food this week…. | Two Vegan Boys Weblog

Leave a Reply

