Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Seasonal Soup…..

Yesterday was a crazy day around here.  Both boys were feeling a bit under the weather.  Especially our little bear Adam.  Poor fellow had to have a nebulizer treatment which he was none to pleased about and a visit to the doctor.  He had slept poorly the night before waking up literally every hour.  The doctor gave him some cold medication and thankfully he slept well last night.  He was miserable yesterday with a fever and cough.

When we are feeling a bit ill or just exhausted as I was due to my little guy being sick.  Soup seems to be the best meal to make.  It is Spring here, so the weather is not hot yet.  Thanks to our CSA and garden I created a seasonal soup.  It was very tasty, simpe to make and perfect for two exhausted parents and a our under the weather guys.  I made a roasted vegetable and fennel soup and served it with a small salad.  It was so tasty.  If you have never roasted fennel, you should.  The smell of it roasting is heavenly.   Every vegetable is this soup is seasonal, organic and came from our garden or CSA.  I love it!

A simple little salad to accompany our soup.  We used lettuce from our garden.

Roasted Vegetable and Fennel Soup

fennel (1 bulb)

1lb carrots, sliced into big chunks

1lb broccoli, cut into big chunks

1 onion, chopped into chunks

2 cloves garlic

olive oil

1t salt

1/2t coarse black pepper

6c vegetable broth

Preheat oven to 425F.  Lightly grease a small baking dish.  Cut fennel into pieces, bulb and stems.  Drizzle with olive oil, stirring to coat.  Bake for 20 minutes or until soft.  Set aside.  Lightly grease a 9X13″ baking dish.  Place the other vegetables into dish.  Drizzle with olive oil, stirring to coat.  Bake for 30-40 minutes, until veggies are tender.  Place fennel and all the vegetables into a stockpot.  Add salt, pepper and broth.  Bring to a boil.  Turn down to a simmer and cook for 15 minutes on a low simmer, stirring occasionally.  Transfer soup to a food processor or blender and puree until smooth.  Transfer back to stockpot.  Cook another 5 minutes.  Ladle the soup into bowls.  Serve with a crusty bread and small salad.  Enjoy.

Monday night I made African rolls.  It is a favorite recipe in our home.  It is whole wheat tortillas filled with brown rice, roasted tofu strips, mashed sweet potatoes, steamed kale, and topped with a spicy cilantro sauce.  We gave the boys a rice bowl with the tofu strips, brown rice, and sweet potatoes, lightly seasoned with sea salt.  The cilantro sauce is much to spicy for their taste. 

Well I am off to eat some breakfast and water the garden.  Check back tomorrow for garden progress pictures.

Hope everyone has a lovely day.

peas and love….

Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Seasonal Soup…..

  1. Feel better, boys! We are going through the same thing in our house.

  2. Fennel is the one veggie I’ve always been too scared to try. I HATE licorice. And I loathe anise. So I figure fennel isn’t for me, but I’m sort of curious. Maybe I’ll try roasting first. Hope the boys get better soon. This weather changing thing is hard on little bodies.

  3. I hope the boys are feeling better today! So hard to see the little ones ill.
    That soup looks lovely as I’m always in the mood for soup, no matter the weather. Fresh garden veggies make it all the more delictable.

  4. Another gorgeous sounding soup recipe!
    I did email you when you sent the roasted carrot and coconut one but not sure you received it – I had a query re the size of the cans of coconut milk?
    Anyway, thank you for sharing your wonderful recipes with me. I love roasted fennel so this is deffo one for me to try. Hope it perks up the boys as much as just reading about it did for me.

Leave a Reply

