Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Garden love…..

In March I mentioned we started a garden.  We dug up the earth and started two beds.  One for tomatoes and basil.  The other for greens.  I love gardening. I always have.  It is something I shared with my grandfather.  He was  a great man.  Our two little gardens are moving along nicely.  The tomatoes are up to 4 feet tall and still growing and the basil has become huge.  I love how a tiny plant can grow so much.  Our greens garden has produced some lovely veggies for our meals.   It is turning warmer here, so some of the greens have bolted and been replaced.  Our greens garden has two types of lettuce, kale, dill, cilantro, sugar pumpkins, spaghetti squash, swiss chard, beets, eggplant, cucumbers, garlic chives, garlic, broccoli, three types of hot peppers, sweet peppers, and artichokes.  In the back of both gardens we planted skyscraper and mammoth sunflower seeds and they have sprouted.  I can’t wait until they bloom.  Earlier this week, we dug up a third bed for the boys to enjoy.  We are planting yellow squash, zucchini squash, watermelon, and cantaloupe.  I planted seeds for the squash and melons a few weeks ago and they have sprouted and are ready to go into the ground.  I am very pleased with our little gardens and the lovely veggies we have been eating.  I have started a page called 2010 Garden Harvest.  I am making a list of all the veggies we harvest and at the end of the year, I am going to total up how much we saved growing our own vegetables instead of buying from the store.  Homegrown organic is much cheaper than store-bought organic.

Broccoli growing in the garden. I  can’t wait to pick it.

Our tomato and basil garden.

Our mixed vegetable garden.

All this garden love and the CSA we recently started that we share with a friend has got me excited about a project/challenge I am starting on Monday.  Check back Monday for all of the exciting details.  It will be fun.

Last night we had take away from a local vegetarian/vegan Mexican restaurant.  The best part about this meal was the fact it was free.   Tuesday was a terrible day around here.  No sleep for me, two sick little guys.  Ugh.  Well, we were sitting down for dinner and the doorbell rang.  Our lovely friends had delivered dinner to us.  It was so very thoughtful.  Since we had already eaten, I saved it for last night.  They brought us tofu and sunflower seed tamales, black beans, rice and a spinach salad.  I made a cannellini bean and mint salad to accompany the meal as well.  Such goodness.

Mint and bean salad recipe from a cookbook we are reviewing. Fresh mint from the herb garden is perfection.

Well I am off to put the two little guys down for a nap.  They still have the sniffles. 

Hope you each have a lovely day.

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

My three guys on a hike.

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Garden love…..

  1. lazysmurf on said:

    your garden is looking so gorgeous! I can’t wait to get mine going.

  2. I am sure you are going to have a great harvest. Excellent! I just planted my peppers, tomatoes, cilantro & lettece. Its still chilly here in Ohio but my lettece is now sprouting. i am excited.

  3. Wow! I want to live in a hot place (pouting bottom lip!) Your vegetables look great. There’s nothing like growing your own, is there? Even in a cold wee country like ours!

  4. check out the snarky vegan blog…she does an amazing garden

  5. Your tomatoes and basil are so much bigger than mine! I think I need to move them to a sunnier spot.

  6. It’s exciting to see all of your progress. Soon we will get to put in tomatoes. I’m psyched this weekend because I’m heading to the Baker Creek Spring festival, so many heirlooms and other things to see 🙂

  7. Nice blog! Only problem is i’m running Firefox on Debian, and the site is looking a little.. weird! Perhaps you may want to test it to see for yourself.

Leave a Reply

