Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Day 2 with Vegan on the Cheap…….

Last night was our second meal from Vegan on the Cheap.  I made the linguine with variations on a pesto.  It was delicious.  The recipe serves four.  But  honestly, if the meal is served with a salad and some crusty garlic bread, you could easily serve 6 people. 

When cooking a new recipe and as I mentioned yesterday, while I am cooking through this entire book.  I always take pantry and refrigerator inventory.  If I already have the ingredients, then they have long been paid for and there is no cost for this week’s grocery bill.  Remember, taking stock first, saves you a lot of money.  For this recipe, I had all but two of the ingredients listed.  The total meal cost for me to cook this meal for my family was $1.17.  That comes out to 29cents per serving for four people.  If you add a salad and bread in order to serve 6 people, then the linguini recipe would have cost 19cents per serving.  Even better!

The taste of the linguini dish was perfect.  I think the fresh basil from our garden had a lot to do with the flavor.  Nothing beats fresh basil.  The combination of the basil with Robin’s ingredients made for a light, flavorful pasta dish.  I served it with a side salad using vegetables from our garden and CSA.  Josh liked the dish a lot.  He said the only change he would have made to the pesto sauce would be to add more garlic.  He loves garlic.

Tonite I am making curried yellow split pea soup.  I can’t wait.  I love curry and I love split peas. 

Vegan on the Cheap has a ton of recipes, so this cook-through will last into and most likely past the Summer.  Stay tuned.  Everyday will be a new recipe from the book.  This weekend I plan to  make a dessert from the book as well. 

Happy Tuesday!  I am off to run some errands with  my two little guys.  Hope you have a lovely day.

peas and love….

Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Day 2 with Vegan on the Cheap…….

  1. conradvisionquest on said:

    wow that linguini looks awesome!
    ~wendy

  2. I want that book! I’m always spending way too much money on ingredients….

  3. Wow! That is cheap. I am impressed. Dont invite me over or I would eat all of you cheap pesto pasta! 😉

  4. Man! That looks so delicious! I get tired of meat dishes, and this looks perfect. I want to make pasta dishes now!

    I love garlic too, so I can get behind that!

  5. Fresh basil is wonderful! I became sold on it last year. Have you tried Thai Basil? I had a plant last year, but killed it, and just bought another.

Leave a Reply

