Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

The pea has split…

Where did it go?  In my bowl, that’s where.  Last night I made curried yellow split pea soup.  Another recipe from Vegan on the Cheap.  Now if you would had offered me split pea soup 10 years ago, there is no way, I would have touched it.  Growing up, my knowledge of split pea soup was the crap in a can.  Disgusting!  Once turning veggie, I thought I would give peas a chance.  So, I started making split pea soup.  Now, I love it.  When I saw Robin had created a recipe, I had to give it a try.  The verdict:   delicious!  This recipe has a curry spin to it.  And it great for a hectic day.  Throw all the ingredients in a crockpot, turn it on low and go about your business for the day.  That is exactly what we did.  I threw everything in the crockpot and the boys and I went to the playground, had a picnic, and ran errands.  When I came home in the afternoon, our home smelled heavenly.  It was kind of funny.  When I first walked in the door, I thought, “Wow.  It smells really good in here.”  I had totally forgotten that I had set the soup up to simmer all day.  The bread was served with a crusty baguette I made. 

For this recipe, I did pantry and refrigerator inventory.  I had all the ingredients needed, so there was no cost on this week’s grocery bill.  I did make a few changes to the recipe. I used green split peas instead of yellow.  I had a pound of green peas in the pantry.  I doubled the spices.  Our CSA and garden provided the other vegetables needed to make the soup.  In her book, Robin quotes the cost per serving to be <$1.00.  For us it was no cost at all.  I am really loving Vegan on the Cheap so far.

Our little bear Adam is getting so big.  Being a mum and seeing your baby grow up so fast is a bit depressing.  I am going to miss holding my little man all the time.  Yesterday we put him in the booster seat for the first time to sit with us at the kitchen table.  He loved it.  He was all smiles and sat and colored with his big brother.  Everyday is so fun with my two little guys.  Though they aren’t so little anymore.  Adam also tries to sing Old McDonald had a Farm.  I will say, “And on his farm he had a?”  He will say, “kit cat”. And he says, “eoeoeo”. 

Our big guy Arthur loves bugs.  He told us his favorite is  a moth and snail.  So cute.  I found a giant insect book at the discounted bookstore.  He looks at it everyday and asks us to tell him what the names of the bugs are.  He also mentioned he wanted a bug birthday party this year.  Now I have to start thinking of something very creative to make on his cake/cupcakes.

Well I am off to take the boys outside to play before it gets to warm.  It is supposed to be 95F  this afternoon.  What happened to Spring?

Hope you have a lovely day.

peas and love….

Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “The pea has split…

  1. lazysmurf on said:

    I also didn’t like split pea soup too! The only kind I ever tried was the nasty ham kind. It wasn’t until very recently I had the revelation of how great it is! You are amazing with the cheap eats!

  2. I too have never been a fan of the split pea soup! Haha..wow..

    Great read. Thanks.

  3. They do grow so fast, don’t they? I sure miss the baby/toddler stage!

  4. Your boys sound like so much fun! I will have to look into this book. We’re always trying to figure out how to cut the food bill back while still eating great things.

  5. Split pea soup has always been a favorite of mine. I really live the texture! You watch basketball? who are you rooting for?

  6. I made the soup last weekend… It was so quick to prepare… I really enjoyed cooking in the crock-pot. It was very tasty and soft.

Leave a Reply

