Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Cookin’ up a storm…..

….Robin Robertson style.  The Vegan on the Cheap cook-through is going great.  We have already cooked 10  recipes from the book and there has not been one complaint.  Everything has been great.  Wednesday I made the White Bean and Barley “Risotto” with Kale and Tempeh recipe.  It was terrific.  I really liked the barley in place of the rice.  The meal was very filling.  In the book, the recipe says it serves 4-6 people.  It easily served 6.  The cost per serving stated in the book is <$1.50.  For us the cost was 31 cents per serving.  We had all the ingredients except mushrooms.  The kale came from our garden and I had tempeh in the deep freeze.  As I said before and will say it again, take stock of your kitchen before grocery shopping.  You may already have the ingredients you need for a meal. 

Thursday night I made the Better-Than-Takeout Tofu Stirfry.  It was so tasty.  And as the title states, it was way better than take out.  The meal was no cost for us.  We had tofu in the freezer and used broccoli from our garden.  I also added broccoli leaves to the mix.  So tasty and so good for you.  This recipe serves 4 and the cost per serving is <$1.50.  You definitely could not get this meal from a restaurant at this price or taste.  The leftovers promptly disappeared the next day.

Last night was Friday night and that means pizza night.  Yippee!  A definite favorite around here.  I made a pizza from Vegan on the Cheap.  I made the Pepperoni-Mushroom Pizza.  All I can say is “Wowza!”  This pizza rocked.  I  used the Big Stick Pepperoni recipe in the book for the pizza.  The pepperoni was perfect.  We all loved it.  I sliced it and fried it up a bit and put it on the pizza along side the mushrooms and some FYH mozerella cheeze.  Such goodness. The cost to make the pepperoni was $1.  I had all but one ingredient.  The cost in the book is <50cents per serving and it makes a pound of pepperoni.  For the pizza, it cost us $1.16 for a 12″ pizza.  I had everything but the mushrooms.  The cost shown in the book for the pizza is <$1.00 per serving.  Now that is a bargain.  A vegan 12″ vegan pizza can be quite pricey.  I also made the marinara recipe from Vegan on the Cheap.  It was simple and delicious.  This was no cost to us because we had all the ingredients in our kitchen.  The marinara recipe makes 7 cups worth and costs <$1.00 per serving.   Once again, it pays to cook at home and not waste money on take away.  This pizza knocks the socks off of any frozen or restaurant pizza.  It rocked.

Yesterday was the day we get our CSA share.  I love it.  We get so many organic vegetables for such a low price.  Since we share our CSA with a friend it costs us $15 a week.  And we definitely get more than $15 worth of veggies.  All organic and local.  This week’s harvest:   arugula, redleaf lettuce, greenleaf lettuce, broccoli, kohlrabi, garlic, onion, carrots, beets, rainbow chard, and flatleaf parsley.

Well it is Saturday afternoon, almost naptime.  The boys still have a cough so we are taking it easy today.  What are your plans for the weekend?  Are you doing anything special for Mothers Day?  To all the mums out there, I hope you have a lovely Mothers Day.

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Cookin’ up a storm…..

  1. I do not have this book but I am going to check Borders & Amazon to order it. It has some great recipes. Thank you for the info. I love the boys.

    http://nuestracena-vegancuisine.blogspot.com

  2. ren on said:

    I’m sold. Between the dishes you’ve made and the cost/savings, I couldn’t help myself and ordered the book tonight. Can’t wait to hear more. Thanks 🙂

  3. I went to the bookstore last week and looked at Vegan on the cheap. I really like the size of the book, the layout and the colors used. It seems very practical.

    I will order it soon!

    The risotto, the tofu stir fry and the pizza look absolutely terrific.

  4. Janice on said:

    For vegan on the cheap, I highly recommend the Oats, Peas, Beans and Barley Cookbook by Edyth Young Cottrell. It’s a really old book, but you can still snag a copy on Amazon. The waffles are to die for.

Leave a Reply

