Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Weekend update…..

Well, hello there.  How was your weekend?  Josh had to work Saturday, so the boys and I were solo.  We took it easy because they were both still getting over colds.  Sunday was Mothers Day.  It was the best.   Josh took me and the boys to a pottery studio and my two little guys painted a bowl for me and put their little handprints on it.  It will be ready Friday.  I can’t wait to see it.  Then we had a picnic in the park.  The weather was perfect and I could not have asked for a better day spent with my family.

The cook-through is going great. I made a dessert recipe from Vegan on the Cheap.  It was delicious.  I made the Golden Bar Cookies.  I subbed almond butter in place of peanut butter.  And almonds in place of peanuts.  That is what I had in the fridge.  The only cost to us was the cost of the apricot preserves.  It was $2.59 a jar. Yikes!  That is what an organic jar of preserves cost.  Since it was the only ingredient we had to buy, the bars cost us 11 cents per serving.  The book shows the cost to be <50cents per serving. 

Last night I made the Sunday Supper Fritata from Vegan on the Cheap.  It was so good.  We loved it.  I used vegetables from our garden and CSA.  I switched out some of the vegetables in the recipe.  Our fritata had mushrooms, yellow squash, rainbow chard, carrots, potato, fennel, and onion in it.  Such goodness.  We had all the ingredients but two mushroom.  So this meal cost us 15cents, the cost of two mushrooms.  Yeah!  I had all the igrendients for this meal in our fridge, pantry, garden, and csa box.  Checking your ingredients before shopping saves a lot of money.  The book lists the cost per serving as <$1.50 for 4 servings.  This dish easily made 6 servings.  Once again a real deal.

Fritata- delicious dish, crappy picture.

Here is our Vegan on the Cheap menu for the week.

Mon-Sunday Supper Fritata

Tues-Caldo Verde with a salad

Wed-Roasted Root Vegetable Salad w/French Lentils & Walnuts

Thurs-Quick Lo Mein

Fri-Pizza

Sat-Leftovers

Sun-Pasta Slaw w/Better Bean Burgers

Last week I had planned on making the Roasted Vegetable Salad, but I had so many leftovers from the other meals, that I waited to make it this week.  If we have a ton of leftovers this week, then I may wait to make the slaw and burgers.  You can’t beat a cookbook that not only saves you money, but leaves you with leftovers to eat as well. 

Well, I am off to make the Caldo Verde.  Hope everyone has a lovely Tuesday.

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Weekend update…..

  1. That frittata looks delicious. And yes, good quality preserves are expensive! Everything good seems expensive these days, actually. It’s sad that a crappy high-fructose grape jelly can cost like $1 a jar, but the good-for-you stuff has to be so expensive.

  2. I bought this book! And I’m busy going through it putting stickers on the recipes I want to try first! Also, thanks to the book, I now know what your CSA stands for! I must try those Golden Bars and the frittata…

    I’m glad you had such a lovely day! We have Mothering Sunday over here, which is when young girls in service at the ‘big house’ were allowed to go home and visit their mothers, and take her a present. It happens in March. But, because of the American influence ( 🙂 ), it’s usually called ‘Mothers’ Day’ these days…

  3. nice mother’s day…I hope you show us the masterpiece the boys made for you….we want photos. Happy Belated mother’s Day.

    http://nuestracena-vegancuisine.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

