Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Roasted……

Good morning.  TGIF!  I am so glad it is Friday.  It has been a long and tiring week.  Today I can’t help but think about a friend of ours.  Last summer I posted about attending a funeral for a baby.  It was so sad and something I never ever want to do again.  Well today, my friend’s little guy would have turned a year old.  She has been so strong, but I know it is hard for her.  He died when he was just 8 weeks old of SIDS.  He was such a happy and sweet baby.  I can’t even imagine how she must feel and how much she  misses him.  I am so blessed to have my two little guys.  Our thoughts and prayers go out to her today.

So, you may be wondering why the title of this post is “Roasted”.  That is because last night’s dinner was roasted, well part of it anyway.  I made the Roasted Vegetable Salad with French Lentils and Toasted Walnuts recipe from Vegan on the Cheap.  It was really good.  And the cost, nothing.  Love it.  We used beets, kohlrabi, and carrots for our roasted vegetables.  I had all the ingredients for this meal, so nothing was purchased at the grocery store.  The faux feta was great in the salad.  Little bear Adam loved it and was eating the cubes of marinated tofu hand over fist.  The lettuce came from our garden and all the other veggies from our CSA.  In the book, the serving cost is quoted as <$1.50 per serving.  It made 4 servings. 

It is raining today, which I love.  And it is great for the garden.  It is actually supposed to rain all weekend.  I don’t really mind, as I said earlier, it has been a long week, so we plan to just relax.  What are your plans for the weekend?

Well I am off to make some pizza dough.  Friday night pizza night!

Hope you each have a lovely day.

peas and love….

Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Roasted……

  1. Looks yummy! And your friend will be in my thoughts today. How very sad 😦

  2. This looks very tasty.

  3. more yummy food and two cute kids….love it.

    http://nuestracena-vegancuisine.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

