Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Weekend update…..

Happy Monday!  It is quite warm here today, 90F.  But nice all the same.  I am bit sleepy though and wish I were napping.  The food around here was great as usual.  Friday night was pizza night.  I made a cheeze pizza for the boys and a sundried tomato artichoke heart pizza for me and Josh.  Sticking with the cook-through of Vegan on the Cheap.  I just switched out toppings, but used the pizza dough and sauce recipe.  We had all the ingredients, but the cheeze, so the cost for both pizzas was $3.25.  We always use half a package of FYH cheeze for each pizza.  A great bargain.

Friday nights are full of silly little boys in our home.

Saturday we went to an outdoor kids concert.  It was awesome.  The boys loved it.  We ran into friends while we were there and I ran into a dear friend I hadn’t seen in over 10 years.  It was so great to see her.  Saturday night I made the Curried Tofu Wraps from Vegan on the Cheap.  Wow!  This meal was terrific.  All the meals from the book have been great, but this one has been our favorite by far.  I plan to make these wraps to take with us on our road trip to Florida.  They were a perfect mix of curry, tofu and chutney all wrapped in a tortilla.  The cost of the wraps was only 88cents.  We once again had all the ingredients except one.  The books states the cost is <$2.00 per serving and the recipe serves 4.  This recipe will be made again.  It was heaven.  The chutney recipe for the wraps came from Vegan on the Cheap as well.  It is called Cheapskate Chutney.  It may be cheap on the price, but definitely not on taste.  It made a ton.  Josh and I loved it.  And it was way cheaper than buying it from the local Indian market.  The cost to make it was 98cents.  If we had bought the amount I made from the store, it would have been $7-8. 

Sunday I woke up and made us tofu scramble for breakfast with roasted potatoes and tempeh bacon.  Such goodness. 

Sunday after breakfast we took the boys in the jogging stroller and went for a 4.5 mile walk around the lake.  They got to feed the ducks, hear a band play, take a nap, and play on the playground.  It was a nice family day.  Later that day, I took Arthur to see Lazy Smurf’s dogs.  She asked me to look after her two little sweet pups while she was on holiday for a few days.  It is cool because she lives about 1.5 miles from us.  Arthur loved seeing Dinger and Willow.  They are cute in their pictures, but way cuter in person. 

Arthur and Dinger

Well I am off to  make some banana bread.  Hope you  have a lovely evening.

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Weekend update…..

  1. Kirsty on said:

    Hi Krys
    Wow … I just typed in “Vegan, Adam and Arthur” to google in the hope I may be able to find you and bam up came your wonderful blog. Hi it’s Kirsty, the Scottish Mum of the one year old boy, Callum, from the Children’s Museum today. It was lovely to meet your lovely family – such gorgeous boys!
    The reason I was searching for you is that I got the results of the testing for Callum for gluten and milk allergy. Sadly he is definitely allergic to both – in fact the gluten he has two gluten intolerance genes so that means he’d have a bad reaction. As you are a Mom to two very healthy big vegan boys I wondered if I could ask you a few questions? Could you send me a quick email and I can send you some questions – or my number and we could maybe do a playdate or something?
    I know how to handle the whole gluten free stuff, I’m just curious how to do the whole no dairy with kids.
    Love your blog by the way!!
    Kirsty

  2. I have to make those wraps! We love tofu, chutney and wraps in the SVH household, so these will go down VERY well, I’m sure.

    Those pups you’re pup-sitting look very cute indeed. And how nice to see Arthur enjoying those licks!

    It’s lovely that you met your Scottish friend again. Yay for Scottish friends! 🙂

  3. Tofu scramble looks sooooo good!
    And I know I say it all the time but DAMN! Your boys are CUTE!
    🙂

  4. YOUR BABIES BRING LOTS OF SMILES TO MY FACE BECAUSE EVERY PHOTO YOU POST ARE THE SAME PHOTOS I TOOL OF MY BOYS. THIS ONE IN PARTICULAR REMINDED ME OF ONE OF THEIR HALLOWEEN NIGHT IN WHICH I DREW THE SAME FACE DESIGN YOU DID ON YOUR BOYS. i LOVE YOUR BOYS…TREASURE EVERY PHOTO YOU TAKE BECAUSE THEY GROW UP TOO FAST. I ALSO LOVE THE FOOD PHOTOS YOU ALWAYS POST…THEY ARE ALWAYS TOO YUMMY LOOKING.

    http://nuestracena-vegancuisine.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

