Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Food this week….

Good morning.  Hope you are having a lovely Thursday.  The cook-through of Vegan on the Cheap is still going strong.  The meals this week have been delicious.  Actually, there has not been one bad meal from this book.  Usually a cookbook has at least one meal that is a flop.  As Josh mentioned the other night, Robin Robertson is an awesome chef and author. 

This is what we have cooked this week so far.  Monday I made the Tortilla Strata.  It reminded me of a Mexican lasagna.  It was very tasty.  The ingredients were simple.  The dish easily served 6 and it cost us $3.06 for the whole meal.  I had all the ingredients but the salsa and chiles.  The book lists the cost per serving as <$1.50.  This was a delicious and filling meal.

Tuesday I made the Rotini with Spicy Vegetable Ragu.  Godmommy Mary came over for dinner.  This is our weekly family dinner with her.  The boys love it.  The meal was good.  I would have preferred more sauce with the pasta.  I added some vegan Italian sausage I had in the freezer.  I switched the veggies out and used what we had from our CSA and garden.  We ate it with a side of garlic bread.  Tasty!  Oh, and I can’t forget to mention, the boys loved it.  Arthur aka Mr. Pickypants asked for more.  And little bear Adam scarfed it down.  So, this recipe will be in the rotation often.

Last night I made the Savory Vegetable Cobbler.  This was heavenly.  And it made 6 large servings.  I once again switched out the vegetables and added extra.  I used what was in our CSA and garden.  The biscuits cooked on top of the cobbler was delicious.  I threw sauteed swiss chard, fennel, and a patty pan squash into the mix as well as the vegetables suggested by Robin.  The boys loved it too.  What’s not to love?!?  Biscuits and veggies in a creamy sauce equal heaven.  The cost of this meal for us was nothing.  Since I used the veggies in our garden and CSA.  I also had the rest of the ingredients needed in our fridge and pantry.  The book lists the cost per serving as <$1.50.  Delicious and savory.

When cooking a recipe in a  book or making your weekly meal plan, I cannot stress enough to check for ingredients first.  It will save on your grocery bill.   Checking your fridge, freezer, or panty saves a lot of dough.  You just might find you already had the grain needed, or the dried beans, or some type of vegetable in your freezer.  It is frustrating to buy something, get home and realize you already  had it.  You can also sub out vegetables in a recipe by using what you have in your CSA box or from your garden.  It is fun being frugal.

I hope you each have a wonderful day.  I am off to make some jalapeno cornbread to accompany tonite’s dinner.

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Food this week….

  1. Oh, that sounds like a book I need to check out! Looks delicious and we could stand to lower our grocery bills!

  2. Yo, that Mexican lasagna-lookin’ dish is making my tummy growl!

  3. I just made the Chipotle Chili and it was delicious.

Leave a Reply

