Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Frugal Friday…..

TGIF!  Happy Friday.  I have decided to start leaving a frugal tip on our blog every Friday.  If you have a frugal tip you would like to share, send it to me and I will post the tip and the author.  Here is today’s Frugal Friday tip:   When peeling an orange for your kiddo to enjoy or juicing  lemon.  Wait before peeling or juicing.  Zest the orange or lemon first, store the zest in a container in the freezer to use at a later date.  The zest can be used in muffins, breads, dressings, etc.  Then peel the orange or juice the lemon.  Toss the peel in the compost bin.  By zesting the citrus fruit first, it not only saves time for future recipes, it also uses as much of the fruit as possible.

Since our economy is still in the crapper, I try to find ways to be frugal.  I have managed to cut our grocery bill in half.  I am able to feed my family of four on $10 a day.  As you know, we eat healthy, delicious vegan meals.  We spend $300 a month on our total grocery bill.  This includes our CSA and a monthly trip to the wholesale club.  It also helps that we have a vegetable garden.  You can eat well on a vegan diet.  And frugal too.

Now, on with the food.  Last night I made the Southern New Year’s Stew from Vegan on the Cheap(VOTC).  Yes, I know it is not the new year, but there were some lovely collard greens in our CSA box that needed a home.  This recipe was delicious.  I served it with cornbread.  It was hearty, a comforting dish.  The recipe did not cost us anything.  We had all the ingredients, and I made my own seitan.  The recipe serves 6.  In VOTC, the cost per serving is <$1.00.  This is a stew I will definitely make when the new year is really here.

Here is a picture of a cake a I made this week.  I sent it to work with Josh.  I have been practicing my roses.  They are hard to do.  They look okay.  I am going to have to practice some more.  You will have to excuse the bright colors.  That is what happens when you let a 3 year old mix colors.

Any exciting plans for the weekend?  I am solo with the boys tomorrow.  Josh has to work.  Boo 😦  So, we plan on going to the bookstore, and the park. 

Tonite is pizza night.  We love Friday night pizza night around here.  Arthur informed me that we needed to watch Spiderman for our Friday pizza and movie night.  He loves Spiderman.

Hope you each have a lovely weekend.

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

21 thoughts on “Frugal Friday…..

  1. Great blog! I was a tester for Vegan on the Cheap and really enjoyed the dishes. I thought I’d mention that I’m doing a giveaway for VotC on my blog, and the readers have posted loads of cost-cutting measures, if you’re interested.

    Happy Pizza Night!

  2. Your roses are beautiful, although not as gorgeous as Spiderman! Happy Weekend!

  3. Love the spider little guy he is cute. Good tip: Its a cheap way to clean & keep your bathroom mirrors from fogging…clean the bath mirrors with men’s shaving cream…you’ll never have foggy mirrors for a while. When it starts fogging up again repeat the same procedure. Its cheap $1.00 dollar at any dollar store. Can’t get cheaper than that and you’ll also have a nice shaven hubby too.

    http://nuestracena-vegancuisine.blogspot.com

  4. marylamb on said:

    I am looking forward to our dinner Monday from Vegan on the cheap. What should I bring? Cupcakes? Then we can icing at yours?

  5. That food looks good! And I’m so impressed by your roses. You always make such beautiful-looking cakes! You’ve made two beautiful boys, too!

    BTW, we seem to be getting into Friday Night Is Pizza Night, these days, too!

    Sorry you’ll be without Josh on Saturday, but hope you have a lovely day all the same. John and I will be in different cities today (Saturday): he’s taking a tutorial for his students in Edinburgh and I’m attending a tutorial as a student in Glasgow. Bad timing!

  6. Looks great! I love stew!

  7. The cake looks lovely 🙂

  8. The meals you’ve been posting lately from Vegan on the Cheap look great. I love Robin Robertson’s cookbooks. Nice job on the roses! I tried doing that once…let’s just say they looked nothing like yours.

  9. I am waiting impatiently for my library to order a copy of VotC, but for now I am enjoying drooling over all the yummy things you are making from it!

    I also zest all my citrus and freeze the zest. I wrap up 1 tsp. portions in little scraps of plastic wrap so they’re all ready to get tossed into a baking recipe, etc.

  10. hey thanks for taking a look at my blog, glad you like. I enjoyed browsing around yours! will be back. enjoy!

  11. You’re quite a kidder, those rose look wonderful! I hope to check this cookbook out some day, maybe I can get the library to purchase it. Arthur is quite the superhero 😉

  12. interesting blog and good information, thank you

  13. Very nice article, thank U and I’m waiting for more 😉 Greetings

  14. rkhualdjal wholesale voip termination

  15. With havin so much content and articles do you ever run into any issues of plagorism or copyright violation? My blog has a lot of exclusive content I’ve either authored myself or outsourced but it looks like a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my authorization. Do you know any solutions to help stop content from being stolen? I’d truly appreciate it.

  16. Baby spiderman is so cute…. where did you get that head gear?

  17. An remarkable share, I just given this onto a fellow worker who was doing a trifle analysis on this. And he as a matter of fact bought me breakfast basically because I noticed it for him.. smile . So let me reword that : Thnx for the treat! But yeah Thnkx for spending the time to converse about this, I feel powerfully about it and love reading more on this topic . If possible, as you become expertise, would you mind adding your blog with more details? It is extremely helpful for me. Big thumb up for this web log post!

  18. Spot on with this write-up, I actually think this website needs rather more consideration. I’ll probably be again to read way more, thanks for that info.

  19. Could not thank you fully for the blogposts on your web page. I know you put a lot of time and energy into them and really hope you know how much I enjoy it. I hope I’ll do a similar thing for another individual at some point.

  20. Hi all. If you want to find out what are the best mmorpgs of 2011 I strongly suggest you to check out our website Best mmorpg 2011/

Leave a Reply

