Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Weekend update…..

Good morning.  Happy Tuesday to you.  Hope you are having a lovely morning.  How was your weekend?  Ours was nice.  Friday night we had our usual pizza night.  It is so great.  I made the boys a cheeze pizza.  And a vegan pepperoni and mushroom pizza for me and Josh.  The pepperoni recipe in Vegan on the Cheap (VOTC) is perfect.  It is so good.  We couldn’t resist making another pizza like it again. 

Friday before dinner, we had a playdate and did our CSA pick-up.  I love the CSA pick-up.  It is always a surprise.  You never know what wonderful vegetables are going to be in your box.  This week, our share was:   arugula, carrots, zucchini, potatoes, beets, greens, fennel, garlic, onion, cucumber, and basil. 

As soon as we received our share, Arthur grabbed a carrot and started eating it.  It is so great that he has a love for vegetables.  He has become even more interested in them now that we have a garden and CSA.

Saturday Josh had to work, so I took the boys to a puppet show at the local bookstore and then we had a picnic in the park.  It was a nice day with my two little guys.  They had fun. Saturday we just had leftovers.  Not much excitement that day in the food department. 

Sunday Josh was off of work so we played in the backyard and tended the garden.  Our tomato plants are almost 6 feet tall.  Now if the tomatoes would just turn red.  We have a ton of green tomatoes that need to ripen.  Come on sun!  I created a new recipe using quinoa.  The boys love quinoa and it is a great source of calcium.  I served the new quinoa recipe with some skewered veggies.  The best part about the veggies, they were from our gardena nd CSA. 

Here is the new recipe I created.  Delicious and simple.  The Poormans Pesto recipe can be found on a different entry.  If you have trouble finding it, just let me know and I can send it to you.

Cilantro Pesto Quinoa

1c quinoa, cooked according to directions

1 recipe Poormans Pesto

1/3c pecans, chopped

1 large tomato, diced

1 green onion, sliced

cilantro for garnish

Once the quinoa is finished cooking and has cooled a bit.  Gently stir in the pesto sauce.  Fold in the tomatoes, pecans, and green onion.  Once on the dinner plate, garnish with fresh cilantro.

Last night for dinner I  made the Penne-Wise Peanutty Pasta from VOTC.  It was so tasty.  The boys loved it as well.  And it made a ton.  I love leftovers.  We will be eating this again today for our lunch.  The recipe states it makes 4 servings, this actually made around 6 servings.  The cost to make this recipe for us was just a $1.36.  We had all the ingredients but the penne, and the peanuts. And I had a free coupon for the tofu.  The book list the cost per serving as <$1.50.  Perfect!

Hope you have a lovely day.

peas and love….

Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Weekend update…..

  1. The pizza look delicious. I’m always craving vegan pizza, even after I just had some. I should really start a weekly pizza night.

  2. Your pizza, pasta and quinoa look delicious. Next time I have leftover coriander, I’ll for sure try your pesto. It looks delicious.

    Oh, I ordered Vegan on the Cheap last week and I’ll be picking up my copy on Thursday. I can’t wait!

  3. Yummy – the pizza looks gret!!

  4. Hi sweety…check my blog…you have won an award.

    nuestracena-vegancuisine.blogspot.com

  5. Christal Antenor on said:

    Indeed. The WD TV Live and the WD TV Live Hub have taken over all streaming duties in my house. My Roku, Logitech Revue and Sony SMP-N100 boxes have essentially been mothballed at this point.

  6. I visited many websites except the audio quality for audio songs present at this web page is in
    fact superb.

Leave a Reply

