Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Mmmm pie…..

Dinner pie that is.  We love pie around here, whether it is a dessert pie or a dinner pie.  Last night I made the Spinach Pie from Vegan on the Cheap (VOTC).  You may be thinking, this doesn’t look very green.  That is because I subbed swiss chard for the spinach.  We had a ton of it in our garden that needed a home.  That is one thing I love about Robin’s recipes, they are easy to adapt to whatever vegetables you like.  You can switch one out for another and still have a fabulous meal.  For the pie crust, I used the recipe in VOTC.  It was so tasty.  Here at TVB blog we always make our own pie crust.  It is cheap and easy to do.  Plus the commercial pie crusts out there have lard in them.  Gross.  Lard in your fruit pie?!?!?  Thanks, but no thanks.  The cost to make the dinner pie was around a $1.00.  I had to buy mushrooms.  I had all the other ingredients, but the mushrooms.  In VOTC, the cost per serving is <$1.00.  Not to shabby.  I served our dinner pie with a nice side salad courtesy of our garden and CSA.

Speaking of gardens, beef has show up in our backyard.  Beefsteak tomatoes that is.  Hee hee.  Come on, did you really think I was talking about meat?  No way!  Yesterday I harvested some, and today I harvested 5 more.  Yippee!  Homemade marinara?  Yes, please.

We had a 3 day weekend here.  It was nice to have Josh home for three full days.  Sunday we went to the botanical gardens in a city close to us.  It was  a hot day, but the gardens were beautiful.  The boys loved chasing and feeding the ducks and seeing nature at its finest.

Monday we had planned on taking the boys to the park and on a hike, but Boogie woke up with a stomach virus.  Poor guy.  He looked green.  He is much better now.  Thank goodness.  Needless to say, we stayed in that day and watched movies.  For dinner I made some Southern fried goodness to celebrate having the day off with my family.  I made fried “chicken” fingers.  It is a recipe a friend found and sent to me.  I used the seitan recipe from VOTC. Which is now my favorite seitan recipe.  Thanks Robin!  I served it with roasted potatoes, sauteed cajun squash from our garden, and homemade ranch dressing.  This meal rocked.  We were sad to see the leftovers go.  So good. 

Well I am off to have some lunch with my two little guys.  Hope you each have a lovely Wednesday.

peas and love….

Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Mmmm pie…..

  1. Yep … as usual I get real hungry when I visit your site. That pie looks wonderful.

    I have to go get that book! 🙂

    Love the pictures of you & the guys at the botanical garden … it looks like it was a wonderful day!

    Have a good week! 🙂

  2. All this looks so tasty, but Jane and I are on a weight loss thingy together, so pastry’s ‘out’ for a while… Sob…

  3. Yummy looking pie and fried goodness!
    I’ve been meaning to grow some beefsteak tomatoes for the longest time I’ve just never seen any seeds round here! They look so good and I bet they taste divine.

  4. Your pie looks great. Was it good? I got VOTC last week and I’ve tried 3 recipes so far (humus, taboulleh and French chili). They were all tasty, especially the taboulleh. I’ll now be looking to your blog to help me choose recipes!

  5. Yep. You can’t beat a good pie, savory or sweet! You’re really making me with I owned Vegan on the Cheap!

    I hope poor Boogie is all better now, poor thing. Lovely tomatoes! 🙂

Leave a Reply

