Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Beans beans…..

The musical fruit. I love beans.  They are tasty and so easy to use in a recipe.  Last night I made a quick, easy, and tasty recipe thanks again to Vegan on the Cheap (VOTC).  Unfortunately there is no picture.  Sorry.  I made the Barbecued Black Bean and Tofu Burritos.  Wow!  They were good.  It is a different, yet very tasty twist on burritos.  Thanks Robin!  The mix of the black beans with crispy tofu and a smoky homemade bbq sauce all wrapped up in a warm tortilla made for a perfect meal.  Especially since I was a bit pressed for time.  I served the burritos with cumin spiced brown rice and corn.  It rounded out the meal perfectly.  The leftovers were fabulous the next day.  I think the tofu and black beans marinating in the sauce made them even more flavorful.  The meal was no cost to us.  I had all the ingredients.  Yippee!  I had a coupon for a free package of tortillas and I had leftover tofu.  In VOTC, the book states the cost per serving to be <$1.00 and the recipe serves 4.  $1.00 burritos?  Now that’s a bargain.

So, it is Friday.  Time for the “Frugal Friday Tip of the Week”.  This week I am incorporating vegetables into frugal Friday.  The tip:   Make your own vegetable broth.  It is free and easy to do.  I noticed in VOTC, Robin does the same thing we do.  You save all of your veggie scraps-carrot tops, wilted greens, tomato tops, organic potato peelings, etc.  I store it in a container in the freezer.  Once it is full, place it in a stockpot, add water, usually 8-10 cups.  Bring the water and veggies scraps to a boil.  Once boiling, cover and simmer for an hour. Turn off the stove, let it sit until it is cool enough to pour through a strainer into containers.  Once the stock is in containers, let cool completely before covering and freezing.  You just made a ton of FREE vegetable stock.  Bullion cubes are pricy as well as organic stock.  Why buy it when you can make it?

Well, I am off to knead the pizza dough and pick up our CSA.  Hope you have a lovely weekend.

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Beans beans…..

  1. I am going to make those beans as soon as my book arrives. The post before the one I have now has my recipe for tofu baked beans…you may want to check it out…its easy to make. Love the picture of you and the boys…they are precious.

    http://nuestracena-vegancuisine.blogspot.com

  2. Mmmm, my mouth is watering.

    Glad your little guy is feeling better! Tara has a fever today – I thought once they got out of the germ factory (aka school) they would stop getting sick!

  3. No picture? 😦 I have wondered about the combination of bar b que sauce and black beans…

  4. I’m loving your recommendations from VOTC. Thanks! Great photo of you and the boys, too! 🙂

  5. That really is a bargain! I need to add Vegan on the Cheap to my wish list, I could really use some economizing.

    Thanks for the vegetable broth tip! You are the Frugal Tip Queen, Krys! 🙂

Leave a Reply

