Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

You are my sunshine…

I was given a Sunshine award by two of my lovely blogger friends, Millie and Vic.  Thanks!   I love their blogs.  The food they make is always so lovely and they are such  nice people.  I hope to meet them both someday in person.  Have you seen their sites?  If not, check it out.  They are great. 

http://nuestracena-vegancuisine.blogspot.com/

http://haymarket8.blogspot.com

Now, on with the food.  Vegan on the Cheap is coming along great. And as usual, the food has been terrific.  Seriously good.  Good and cheap.  If you have not bought this book, I encourage you to do so, it is so worth it.  And the recipes are cheap, but tasty. 

The other day I was going to make a meal from VOTC, but realized I ran out of wheat gluten.  Oy!  That never happens, but it did.  Seeing that I was not going to be able to make the meal I wanted to from VOTC, I thumbed through the book and found a recipe that was perfect.  I had all the ingredients in my fridge and pantry.  Yippee!  I made the Rice Island Casserole.  It was delicious.  Even Mr. Pickypants Arthur liked it.  Little bear Adam loved it.  It easily served 6.   I served it with a side of sauteed green beans from our CSA and yellow squash from our garden.  The meal was no cost to us, because I had all of the ingredients.  In VOTC, it lists the cost per serving to be <$1.00 and it serves 6.  Terrific!

Joe came over for dinner Sunday night.  Smoky Joe that is.  I made the Smoky Joes recipe from VOTC.  Man oh man were these bad boys good.  I used homemade burger buns I had made last week.  And used the seitan recipe in VOTC.  Which by the way is the best seitan recipe out there. I kid you not.  It is, just try it.  You won’t be disappointed.  The Smoky Joes were great and simple to make.  We were very pleased with this meal.  Josh said it reminded him of bbq sandwiches.  It once again was no cost to us because I had all the ingredients.  Yippee!  In VOTC, the cost listed is <$1.00 per serving.  It serves 4. 

The other day I made the Easy Peanut Sauce recipe from VOTC.  I put it into a mix of edamame and noodles for the boys.  They loved it.  Here is little bear enjoying it for his lunch.  He is smiling and super happy with his meal.  Thanks Robin!

This week is a bit crazy.  That explains the lack of so many updates.  Sorry.  We are getting ready for our roadtrip which begins on Sunday.  We are spending the week in Florida.  Yay!  I have been busy cleaning, doing laundry, making preparations for a housesitter, etc.  So, needless to say, there will be no updates next week, but check back upon our return for details of our trip and fun pictures.

Well, I am off to make a mockloaf recipe from VOTC for our dinner tonite.  Hope you have a lovely Tuesday.

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

P.S.  A picture of my handsome little Boogie.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “You are my sunshine…

  1. Your children are so lucky to have a mother like you. The smoky Joe looks very delicious!

Leave a Reply

