Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Holiday weekend…..

We had a three day weekend this past week.  Here in the States we celebrate the 4th of July, Independence Day.  We enjoyed some fireworks.  Little Bear was none to pleased with those.  The noise frightened him.  Boogie on the other hand, loved it.  I also cooked up some good food to celebrate.  I made vegan ribs, corn on the cob, fried okra, and mike and cheeze.  The ribs and mike and cheeze recipe were courtesy of our friend Craig who always cooks awesome food.  Holy tofu was this meal delicious.  Josh said he didn’t want it to end.  I also made a cucumber tomato mint salad using vegetables from our garden and csa.

For lunch on Sunday we went to The Final Buntier.  It was a vegan hot dog eating contest.  It was great to see so many vegans.  We ran into several friends which was awesome.  Arthur was excited about the stickers he got from the Action for Animals table. 

A friend took this picture of him.  It made him sad.  He saw a flyer of a circus elephant with a chain around its foot.  He kept running his finger along the picture of the chain and kept asking me why mean people hurt the elephants.  It was so sweet and innocent.  He is such a loving and sensitive boy.

Little bear was all smiles at the hot dog eating contest.

Now for some cooking with Vegan on the Cheap.  For those of you who are new to our blog.  We are cooking our way through Robin Robertson’s latest cookbook Vegan on the Cheap (VOTC).  We are already over halfway through it.  So far everything has been tasty. Not one flop. Usually a cookbook has one recipe that is a miss, but not this one.  Late last week, I cooked the Vegetable Crisp. It was delicious. Josh loved it.  I am not a fan of tomato slices in my food, so that was the only part I didn’t like.  The meal was no cost to us, thanks to our CSA and garden.  In VOTC, the cost per serving is <$2.00 and it easily serves 6.

I also made the Build-Your-Own-Fajitas from VOTC.  Wow!  These were delicious.  As I have mentioned before.  VOTC has the best seitan recipe.  I know that is a bold statement, but it is true. I have tried many seitan recipes and this is by far our favorite.  I served the fajitas with black beans and cmin spiced rice.  We once again had all the ingredients, so the cost for us was zero.  In VOTC the cost per serving is <$2.00 and it serves 4.  That is better than any Mexican restaurant I’ve been to.

The next two recipes are without pictures.  Sorry!  Our computer has been acting up lately.  When I try to upload pictures it either deletes them or will just not upload them.  Thankfully we will be getting a laptop next month and getting rid of this 10 year old computer.  Ugh.  I also made the Chocolate Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Frosting from VOTC. I didn’t eat them because I am trying to cut back on sweets, but I was informed by the omnis at Josh’s work that they were awesome.  One exclaimed it was like a peanut butter chocolate candy bar in cupcake form. Needless to say, they all disappeared in about 5 minutes.

I also made the Three Spicy Sisters Stew.  We had a butternut squash that needed a home.  And this stew was perfect for it.  I know, most of you are thinking it is to hot for soup or stew.  We like it year round.  And this recipe from VOTC was super.  Hearty and delicious.  I sent a container over to an omni friend who was having  a tough week and she loved it.  The cost to us was the cost of a bell pepper.  A $1.00, we had all the other ingredients.  In VOTC, the cost per serving is <$1.50 and it served 6.  Such goodness.

Our Summer garden is starting to fade.  So it will be time to plant some seeds for the Fall.  I am excited to say that we have watermelon.  Right now they are a little bigger than a softball.  When I read the seed package yesterday to see how big they will get, it said up to 35 pounds.  Wowza!  They are going to weigh more than little bear.  It will be fun to  harvest them.  I love gardening.  It is a great hobby and my family really enjoys it.

Well, I am off to make a salad to accompany tonite’s lasagna.  Godmommy Mary is coming over for dinner. 

Hope you have a lovely Tuesday.

peas and love….

Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

13 thoughts on “Holiday weekend…..

  1. What a kind wee fellow Arthur is. You’re bringing them up the right way!
    Sorry Little Bear was scared of the fireworks. Our dogs hate them. They’re not so much scared as angry and upset.
    I must try those cupcakes. As a combination, peanut butter and chocolate cannot be bettered, in my opinion! 🙂

  2. So lovely to read Arthurs feelings about the elephant. It shows he’s consdering the feelings of ‘others’ around him. That is a tribute to you.

  3. What do you plant in the fall garden? We don’t even harvest any tomatoes until late July/early August!

  4. Love Arthur’s sensitive heart…that’s a true man in the making…good job Mom. Love the dishes…they look fabulous.

    http://nuestracena-vegancuisine.blogspot.com

  5. Poor Baby Adam! I totally understand him though because I *hate* fireworks.

    Arthur is such a compassionate little guy! Aww, the look on his little face there is heartbreaking.

    Your food looks amazing, as always, and now I am really curious about that seitan from Vegan On The Cheap.

    Will you take pictures of your watermelons? Have I mentioned how jealous I am of all your homegrown goodies? 🙂

  6. marylamb on said:

    Please send me the ribs recipe and the vegan mac. LOVELOVELOVE you.

    I plan to make the wheat balls this weekend!

  7. Arthur is a loving & compassionate young man…he will be an inspiration to many. that’s a wonderful gift and a good view of great parents.

  8. audi666 on said:

    Wow… those ribs and “mike and cheeze” look amazing. im jealous!

  9. blessedmama3 on said:

    So much to comment on your post! I think it’s wonderful that your son has such compassion – may it affect the world. Your holiday dinner looks yummo – I can see why everyone liked it. I have GOT to get Robin’s cookbook. We definitely need it here, and everything sounds so good. I really want to try that seitan recipe b/c like you, I’ve been searching for that one great homemade version. Thanks!

  10. I really enjoy reading your blog. I’ve actually added a link to it on my blog. I’m very curious about what type of seiten you use because I’ve tried it a few times and really haven’t enjoyed it. I’m not sure if it’s the brand, the way I’m preparing it or if I simply don’t like it.

    thanks Lin

    BTW, love the pics of your boys, they are too cute!

  11. More incredible recipes to tempt me from VotC. I have exhausted every avenue trying to get the book from my library (interlibrary loan, etc.) but no one has a copy! Needless to say I’ve made it a “suggested title” for my library. I have a policy of not buying any cookbook I haven’t cooked from already (either borrowed from a friend or the library) but I may just have to get this one anyways… From all your wonderful reviews and pictures it’s almost like I have cooked from it!

  12. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied
    on the video to make your point. You clearly know what youre talking about, why throw
    away your intelligence on just posting videos to your blog when you could be giving
    us something informative to read?

  13. Hey there, You’ve done an excellent job. I’ll certainly
    digg itt and personally suggest to my friends. I’m sure they’ll bee benefited from this web site.

Leave a Reply

